Java - Administrative Division

Administrative Division

The island is administratively divided into four provinces:

  • Banten, capital: Serang
  • West Java, capital: Bandung
  • Central Java, capital: Semarang
  • East Java, capital: Surabaya

and two special regions:

  • Jakarta
  • Yogyakarta.

Read more about this topic:  Java

Other articles related to "administrative division, division, administrative":

Administrative Division - Compare
... Sovereign state, a national or supra-national division ... Country, a national or supra-national division ... Empire, a supra-national division ...
... of any county when dividing the country for administrative purposes ... County-equivalents can be broadly grouped into the following three classes An administrative division of a state, in certain states, which is comparable to a ... First, the administrative division directly below the state level is called a borough instead of a county, but is otherwise equivalent ...

Famous quotes containing the word division:

    For a small child there is no division between playing and learning; between the things he or she does “just for fun” and things that are “educational.” The child learns while living and any part of living that is enjoyable is also play.
    Penelope Leach (20th century)