International Lutheran Council

The International Lutheran Council is a worldwide association of confessional Lutheran denominations. It is to be distinguished from the larger Lutheran World Federation, which is an association of the more theologically moderate to liberal Lutheran churches, all of which are in full communion with one another as a condition of membership. Unlike the LWF, the member church bodies of the ILC are not required to be in church-fellowship with one another, though many of them are. The organization was constituted in 1993 at a council held in Antigua, Guatemala, although it traces its roots back to theological conferences held in many locations during the 1950s and 1960s.

Luther's Rose
Book of Concord
  • Apostles' Creed
  • Nicene Creed
  • Athanasian Creed
  • Augsburg Confession
  • Apology of the Augsburg Confession
  • Luther's Small Catechism
  • Luther's Large Catechism
  • Smalcald Articles
  • Treatise on the Power and Primacy of the Pope
  • Formula of Concord
  • Justification
  • Law and Gospel
  • Sola gratia
  • Sola scriptura
  • Christology
  • Sanctification
  • Two Kingdoms
  • Priesthood of all believers
  • Divine Providence
  • Marian theology
  • Theology of the Cross
  • Sacramental Union
Sacraments & Rites
  • Baptism
  • Eucharist
  • Confession
  • Confirmation
  • Matrimony
  • Anointing of the Sick
  • Holy Orders
  • Protestant Reformation
  • The start of the Reformation
  • Reformation in Denmark-Norway and Holstein
  • Reformation in Finland
  • Reformation in Germany
  • Reformation in Iceland
  • Reformation in Sweden
  • Lutheran Orthodoxy
  • Gnesio-Lutherans
  • Pietists
  • Haugeans
  • Laestadians
  • Finnish Awakening
  • Old Lutherans
  • Neo-Lutherans
  • High Church Lutherans
  • Confessional Lutherans
  • John Campanius
  • Bartholomäus Ziegenbalg
  • Hans Egede
  • Johann Heinrich Callenberg
  • Johann Phillip Fabricius
  • Paul Henkel
  • John Christian Frederick Heyer
  • Karl Graul
  • Martti Rautanen
  • Wilhelm Sihler
  • F. C. D. Wyneken
  • Hans Paludan Smith Schreuder
  • Lars Olsen Skrefsrud
  • Ludwig Ingwer Nommensen
  • Onesimos Nesib
  • Paul Olaf Bodding
  • Johann Flierl
  • Christian Keyser
Bible Translators
  • Martin Luther
  • Casiodoro de Reina
  • Kjell Magne Yri
  • Onesimos Nesib
  • Aster Ganno
  • Jurij Dalmatin
  • Kristian Osvald Viderø
  • Jákup Dahl
  • Bartholomäus Ziegenbalg
  • Johann Phillip Fabricius
  • William Tyndale
  • John Rogers (Bible editor and martyr)
  • George Constantine (Archdeacon)
  • Jozef Roháček
  • Johannes Avetaranian
  • Guðbrandur Þorláksson
  • Ludvig Olsen Fossum
  • Hans and Paul Egede
  • Otto Fabricius
  • Nils Vibe Stockfleth
  • Olaus and Laurentius Petri
  • Martti Rautanen
  • Primož Trubar
  • Jurij Dalmatin
  • Ludwig Ingwer Nommensen
  • Joachim Stegmann
  • Primož Trubar
  • Sebastian Krelj
  • Mikael Agricola
  • Norwegian Bible Society
  • Samuel Ludwik Zasadius
  • Stanislovas Rapalionis
  • Victor Danielsen
  • Jákup Dahl
  • Laurentius Andreae
  • Hans Tausen
  • Olaf M. Norlie
  • Jonas Bretkūnas
  • Hans Paludan Smith Schreuder
  • Antonio Brucioli
  • Mikołaj Jakubica
  • Matthias Bel
  • Johann Ernst Glück
  • William F. Beck
  • Martin Luther
    • Wife: Katharina Luther
  • Philipp Melanchthon
  • Johannes Bugenhagen
  • Johannes Brenz
  • Justus Jonas
  • Lucas Cranach the Elder
  • Hans Tausen
  • Laurentius Petri
  • Olaus Petri
  • Mikael Agricola
  • Matthias Flacius
  • Martin Chemnitz
  • Johann Gerhard
  • Abraham Calovius
  • Johannes Andreas Quenstedt
  • Johann Wilhelm Baier
  • David Hollaz
  • Henry Muhlenberg
  • Lars Levi Læstadius
  • Charles Porterfield Krauth
  • C. F. W. Walther
Lutheranism portal

Member bodies of the ILC hold "an unconditional commitment to the Holy Scriptures as the inspired and infallible Word of God and to the Lutheran Confessions contained in the Book of Concord as the true and faithful exposition of the Word of God."

The Council has thirty participating churches as of 2007. Among its larger members are the Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod, the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Brazil, and the Lutheran Church—Canada. Altogether, approximately 3,450,000 adherents belong to ILC member churches.

The Council's Chairman is Bishop Hans-Jörg Voigt Independent Evangelical Lutheran Church, Germany. The Executive Secretary is the Rev. Dr. Albert B. Collver III, Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod. Delegates to the ILC meet every two years.

The organization has not accepted the Joint Declaration on the Doctrine of Justification, an agreement reached by the Catholic Church's Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity and the Lutheran World Federation, in 1999.

Other articles related to "lutherans, international lutheran council, lutheran":

Lutheran Theology - Practices - Church Fellowship
... Lutherans were divided about the issue of church fellowship for the first thirty years after Luther's death ... Against them stood the Gnesio-Lutherans, led by Matthias Flacius and the faculty at Jena ... Although they decried the visible division of Christians on earth, orthodox Lutherans avoided ecumenical fellowship with other churches, believing that Christians should not, for example ...
International Lutheran Council - Members - Associate Members
... Australia Lutheran Church of Australia - also an associate member of the Lutheran World Federation Peru Evangelical Lutheran Church in Peru (LWF recognized congregation) ...
List Of Lutheran Denominations - International Lutheran Council
... China Evangelical Lutheran Church Christian Evangelical Lutheran Church of Bolivia Evangelical Lutheran Church—Synod of France and Belgium Evangelical ...

Famous quotes containing the word council:

    There by some wrinkled stones round a leafless tree
    With beards askew, their eyes dull and wild
    Twelve ragged men, the council of charity
    Wandering the face of the earth a fatherless child....
    Allen Tate (1899–1979)