History of National Football League Championship

History Of National Football League Championship

Throughout its history, the National Football League and other leagues have used several different formats to determine their league champion, including a period of interleague match-ups determining a true world champion.

The NFL first determined champions through end-of-season standings, but switched to a playoff system in 1933. The rival All-America Football Conference and American Football League have since merged with the NFL (some AAFC teams in 1950), but because of a problem with the NFL-AAFC merger, AAFC championships games and records do not count in NFL record books. The AFL begun play in 1960 and used a playoff system to determine its champions like the league it was rivaling at time of formation.

From 1966–1969 prior to the AFL-NFL merger in 1970, the NFL and the AFL agreed to hold an ultimate championship game, first called the AFL-NFL World Championship game and later renamed the Super Bowl after 1968. The most important factor of the merger was that all ten AFL teams joined the NFL in 1970 and every AFL championship game and record count in NFL record books. Since the merger, the NFL has become the only major professional football league in the United States. The Super Bowl was originally a game between the AFL and the NFL but after the merger, the Super Bowl was retooled as the NFL's championship game. The old NFL Championship game became the NFC Championship Game, while the old AFL Championship became the AFC Championship Game. The NFL lists the old AFL/NFL championship games with "new" AFC/NFC championship games in its record books.

In the NFL's "modern era" (since the AFL-NFL merger in 1970) the Steelers have posted the best record in the league. The franchise have accumulated the most Super Bowl wins (six) since the modern game started in 1970. It is second overall in playoff wins and tied with the Miami Dolphins for most regular-season wins. Since the merger, the team's playoff record is 33–19 (.635), which is second best in terms of playoff winning percentage behind the Green Bay Packers' playoff record of 28–16 (.636), through 23 January 2011.

Read more about History Of National Football League Championship1920–1932: The Early Years, 1966–1969: NFL Vs. AFL—The Beginning of The Super Bowl Era, 1970–present: The Super Bowl Era, Championship Games Per Season, List of Various League/world Championship Game Systems, Undefeated Regular Seasons and "perfect Seasons" in Professional Football, Number of Championships By Franchise (1920-present), Pro Football Dynasties

Other articles related to "history of national football league championship, league, championships, championship":

History Of National Football League Championship - Pro Football Dynasties
... Franchise Years League League Championships (Years) Notes Green Bay Packers 1929–1931 NFL 3 (1929, 1930, 1931) Three NFL consecutive championships (first time) Chicago Bears 1940–1946 NFL 4 (1940, 1941 ... AAFC NFL 7 (1946, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1954, 1955) Four AAFC Championships and three NFL Championships Ten consecutive AAFC or NFL Championship Game appearances (1946–1955) 11. 3 (1992, 1993, 1995) First team to win three Super Bowls in a four-year period three NFC Championships in four straight appearances five straight NFC East division championships, six total ...

Famous quotes containing the words history of, league, history, national and/or football:

    I am not a literary man.... I am a man of science, and I am interested in that branch of Anthropology which deals with the history of human speech.
    —J.A.H. (James Augustus Henry)

    Stereotypes fall in the face of humanity. You toodle along, thinking that all gay men wear leather after dark and should never, ever be permitted around a Little League field. And then one day your best friend from college, the one your kids adore, comes out to you.
    Anna Quindlen (b. 1952)

    At present cats have more purchasing power and influence than the poor of this planet. Accidents of geography and colonial history should no longer determine who gets the fish.
    Derek Wall (b. 1965)

    Any honest examination of the national life proves how far we are from the standard of human freedom with which we began. The recovery of this standard demands of everyone who loves this country a hard look at himself, for the greatest achievments must begin somewhere, and they always begin with the person. If we are not capable of this examination, we may yet become one of the most distinguished and monumental failures in the history of nations.
    James Baldwin (1924–1987)

    In this dream that dogs me I am part
    Of a silent crowd walking under a wall,
    Leaving a football match, perhaps, or a pit,
    All moving the same way.
    Philip Larkin (1922–1986)