Hertford (UK Parliament Constituency)

Hertford was the name of a parliamentary constituency in Hertfordshire, which elected Members of Parliament (MPs) from 1298 until 1974. It was represented in the House of Commons of England from 1298 to 1707, then of the House of Commons of Great Britain from 1707 to 1800, and finally in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom from 1801 to 1974.

From 1298 it was a borough consisting of the town of Hertford, electing two MPs until 1868 and one from 1868 to 1885. In 1885 the borough was abolished and the name was transferred to the county constituency which contained the town.

From the general election of February 1974 the constituency ceased to exist, being mostly included in the new Hertford and Stevenage constituency.

Other related articles:

Hertford (UK Parliament Constituency) - Members of Parliament - Hertford County Constituency (1885-1974)
... Election Member Party 1885 Abel Smith Conservative 1898 by-election Evelyn Cecil Conservative 1900 Abel Henry Smith Conservative Jan. 1910 Sir John Rolleston Conservative 1916 by-election Noel Pemberton Billing Independent 1918 Silver Badge Party 1921 by-election (Sir) Murray Sueter Anti-Waste League/Independent Parliamentary Group 1922 Conservative 1945 Sir Derek Walker-Smith Conservative 1955 Lord Balniel Conservative Feb ...

Famous quotes containing the word parliament:

    At the ramparts on the cliff near the old Parliament House I counted twenty-four thirty-two-pounders in a row, pointed over the harbor, with their balls piled pyramid-wise between them,—there are said to be in all about one hundred and eighty guns mounted at Quebec,—all which were faithfully kept dusted by officials, in accordance with the motto, “In time of peace prepare for war”; but I saw no preparations for peace: she was plainly an uninvited guest.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)