Hawaii (island)

Hawaii (island)

The Island of Hawaiʻi, also called the Big Island or Hawaiʻi Island ( /həˈwaɪ.i/ or /həˈwɑːiː/; Hawaiian: or ), is a volcanic island (the eastern-most and southern-most in the Hawaiian islands chain) in the North Pacific Ocean. With an area of 4,028 square miles (10,430 km2), it is larger than all of the other Hawaiian Islands combined and is the largest island in the United States. The Island of Hawaiʻi is administered as the County of Hawaiʻi within the state of Hawaii. The county seat is Hilo. In modern times, Hawaiʻi is known as the "Big Island" to reduce confusion between Hawaiʻi Island and the state.

Read more about Hawaii (island):  History, Geology and Geography, Demographics, Economy, Places of Interest, Maps, Cities and Towns, Colleges and Universities

Other related articles:

Hawaii (island) - Transportation - Seaports
... Major commercial ports are Hilo on the East side and Kawaihae on the West side of the island ... Cruise ships often stop at Kailua-Kona ...

Famous quotes containing the word hawaii:

    The back meets the front.
    Hawaiian saying no. 2650, ‘lelo No’Eau, collected, translated, and annotated by Mary Kawena Pukui, Bishop Museum Press, Hawaii (1983)