Gus Grissom

Virgil Ivan Grissom (April 3, 1926 – January 27, 1967), (Lt Col, USAF), better known as Gus Grissom, was one of the original NASA Project Mercury astronauts and a United States Air Force pilot. He was the second American to fly in space, and the first member of the NASA Astronaut Corps to fly in space twice.

Grissom was killed along with fellow astronauts Ed White and Roger Chaffee during a pre-launch test for the Apollo 1 mission at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station (then known as Cape Kennedy), Florida. He was the first of the Mercury Seven to die. He was also a recipient of the Distinguished Flying Cross and, posthumously, the Congressional Space Medal of Honor.

Read more about Gus GrissomFamily and Background, Korean War, Astronaut, Awards and Honors, Memorials, Film and Television, Books

Other articles related to "gus grissom, grissom":

List Of Astronauts By Year Of Selection - 1959
... NASA Group 1 – Mercury Seven – USA Scott Carpenter, Gordon Cooper, John Glenn, Gus Grissom, Wally Schirra, Alan Shepard and Deke Slayton ... Three of the Mercury astronauts, Gus Grissom, Gordon Cooper and Wally Schirra, also each flew a mission during the Gemini program ... (Gus Grissom was scheduled to fly the first Apollo flight, but died in a fire on the launch pad during training ...
Mercury-Redstone 4 - Mission Description
... Director of the Space Task Group, Robert Gilruth, told Gus Grissom that he would be the primary pilot for Mercury 4 ... Also, on July 15, 1961, Gus Grissom announced he would name Mercury 4, Liberty Bell 7 ... Grissom said the name was an appropriate call-sign for the bell-shaped spacecraft ...
Gus Grissom - Books
... Grissom died while putting the finishing touches on Gemini A Personal Account of Man's Venture Into Space he had been heavily involved in the engineering of the spacecraft ... The final chapter is dated January 1967, a few days before Grissom's death on the Apollo launch pad ... Betty Grissom." A book titled "Seven Minus One the Story of Astronaut Gus Grissom" was self published in 1968 by Carl L ...