Grey Cup

The Grey Cup (French: La Coupe Grey) is the name of both the championship game of the Canadian Football League (CFL) and the trophy awarded to the victorious team. It is contested between the winners of the CFL's East and West Divisional playoffs and is one of Canadian television's largest annual sporting events. The Toronto Argonauts have 16 championships, more than any other team, and are the defending champions. The 2012 game that was played in Toronto, was the 100th Grey Cup.

The trophy was commissioned in 1909 by the Earl Grey, then Canada's governor general, who originally hoped to donate it for the country's senior amateur hockey championship. After the Allan Cup was donated for that purpose, Grey instead made his trophy available as the national championship of Canadian football. The trophy has a silver chalice attached to a large base on which the names of all winning teams, players and executives are engraved. The Grey Cup has been broken on several occasions, stolen twice and held for ransom. It survived a 1947 fire that destroyed numerous artifacts housed in the same building.

The Grey Cup was first won by the University of Toronto Varsity Blues. Play was suspended from 1916 to 1918 due to the First World War and in 1919 due to a rules dispute. The game has typically been contested in an east versus west format since the 1920s. Traditionally held on a Sunday at the end of November, the Grey Cup has been played in inclement weather at times, including the 1950 "Mud Bowl," in which a player reportedly came close to drowning in a puddle, the 1962 "Fog Bowl," when the final nine minutes of the game had to be postponed to the following day due to a heavy fog, and the 1977 "Ice Bowl," contested on the frozen-over artificial turf at Montreal's Olympic Stadium. The Edmonton Eskimos formed the Grey Cup's longest dynasty, winning five consecutive championships from 1978 to 1982. Competition for the trophy has been exclusively between Canadian teams, except for a three-year period from 1993 to 1995 when a brief expansion into the United States resulted in the Baltimore Stallions winning the 1995 championship.

Read more about Grey CupTrophy, Grey Cup Festival, Champions, Host Cities, Broadcasting

Other articles related to "grey cup, grey cups":

Leo Ezerins
... He was an intregal member of the Tiger-Cats 1986 Grey Cup winning team ... of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers Alumni, and General Manager for the ’91 Grey Cup Festival in Winnipeg ... Little League Championship team and the Winnipeg Hawkeyes Juvenile Little Grey Cup Championship team ...
List Of BC Lions Seasons
... Throughout their history, the Lions have won 6 Grey Cups League season Lions season League Division Finish Wins Losses Ties Playoffs 1954 ... WIFU – 5th 1955 ... WIFU – 4th 1956. 1956. 1963 CFL West* 1st^ 0 ... Won West Finals (Roughriders) 2-1 series Lost Grey Cup (Tiger-Cats) 21-10 1964 ... CFL† West* 1st^ 3 ... Won West Finals (Stampeders) 2-1 series Won Grey Cup (Tiger-Ca ...
Grey Cup - Broadcasting
... The Grey Cup game was first broadcast on radio in 1928 ... the rights to carry the first televised broadcast of a Grey Cup game ... The Grey Cup continues to be one of Canada's most-viewed sporting events ...
Larry Robinson (Canadian Football) - Calgary
... As a member of the Calgary Stampeders, Larry Robinson played in three Grey Cup games the 56th Grey Cup of 1968, lost to the Ottawa Rough Riders, the 58th Grey Cup of 1970 ...
List Of Grey Cup Broadcasters - Television - 1980s - Notes
... The 1982 Grey Cup broadcast drew the largest Canadian TV audience up to that time ... CFN had completely separate coverage of the Grey Cup (when compared to CBC), utilizing its own production and commentators ... From 1987-1989, a weekly CFN game telecast, including playoffs and the Grey Cup championship, aired in the United States on a tape-delay basis on ESPN ...

Famous quotes containing the words cup and/or grey:

    It is surely easier to confess a murder over a cup of coffee than in front of a jury.
    Friedrich Dürrenmatt (1921–1990)

    A face peered. All the grey night
    In chaos of vacancy shone;
    Naught but vast sorrow was there—
    The sweet cheat gone.
    Walter De La Mare (1873–1956)