The International Basketball Federation, more commonly known as FIBA ( /ˈfiːbə/ FEE-bə), from its French name Fédération Internationale de Basket-ball, is an association of national organizations which governs international competition in basketball. Originally known as the Fédération Internationale de Basket-ball Amateur (hence FIBA), in 1989 it dropped the word Amateur from its official name but retained the initialism; the "BA" now represents the first two letters of basketball.

FIBA defines the international rules of basketball, specifies the equipment and facilities required, regulates the transfer of athletes across countries, and controls the appointment of international referees. A total of 213 national federations are now members, organized since 1989 into five zones or "commissions": Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania.

The FIBA Basketball World Cup is a world tournament for men's national teams held every four years. Teams compete for the Naismith Trophy, named in honor of basketball's creator James Naismith. The tournament structure is similar but not identical to that of the FIFA World Cup in football; these tournaments have occurred in the same year since 1970, but starting in 2019, the Basketball World Cup will move to the year following the FIFA World Cup. A parallel event for women's teams, the FIBA World Championship for Women, is also held quadrennially, in the same year as the men's event but in a different country. The women's tournament will continue to be held in the same year as the FIFA World Cup.

In 2009 FIBA announced three new tournaments: two 12-team U-17 World Championships (one each for men and women) to be played in July 2010, and an eight-team FIBA World Club Championship to be launched in October 2010.

The newest worldwide FIBA tournaments for national teams are in the three-player halfcourt variation, 3x3. The FIBA 3x3 U-18 World Championships were inaugurated in 2011, and the FIBA 3x3 World Championships for senior teams followed a year later. All events include separate tournaments for men's, women's, and mixed teams. The U-18 championships, held annually, feature 32 teams in each individual tournament. The senior championships have 24 teams in each individual tournament, and are held in even-numbered years.

Read more about FIBA:  History, FIBA World Rankings

Other articles related to "fiba":

Sports Broadcasting Contracts In The United States - Basketball - FIBA
... ESPN has English and Spanish rights from 2013 to 2015 to FIBA events including the following 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup 2014 FIBA World Championship ...
FIBA World Rankings
... Further information FIBA World Rankings #1 men's team United States #1 women's team United States #1 combined ranking United States ...
Libyan Arab Basketball Federation - Federation Development - FIBA Africa Referees Clinic
... The Libyan national team participated in the FIBA Africa Championship games three times, in 1965, 1970, and 1978, where they placed fifth, fifth ... FIBA Sports Director Lubomir Kotleba, assisted by Boujemaa Jdaini, President of the Technical Commission of FIBA Africa, visited the country for a FIBA Africa referees clinic ... The two FIBA experts used the clinic to explain the latest changes in basketball rules, mechanics of basketball officiating as well as topics like officiating psychology ...
Seth Curry - FIBA Under-19 World Championship
... Medal record Men’s basketball Competitor for United States FIBA U19 World Championship Gold 2009 Auckland Team competition Curry attended the FIBA Under-19 World ...
Léon Bouffard
... He co-founded FIBA in 1932 and served as FIBA's president from 1932 to 1948 ... Since 1948 he served as the Honorary President of FIBA ... In 2007, he was enshrined as a contributor into the FIBA Hall of Fame ...