Ernie Awards

The Ernie Awards are an Australian award for comments deemed misogynist.

It is named after former Australian Workers' Union secretary Ernie Ecob, who was known for his misogynist remarks. One of his best-known remarks was "Women aren't welcome in the shearing sheds. They're only after the sex," which is why there is a sheep on top of the Gold Ernie. The inaugural awards night was in celebration of him resigning from the Labor Council of New South Wales.

A dinner is held for 400 women each year and the winner is determined by the person who receives the most booing when their sexist statement or action is read out.

A variety of categories have featured, such as the Gold Ernie, the Warney (for sport, named after Shane Warne), the Media Ernie, the Political Ernie, the Judicial Ernie, the Anon (for boys behaving better, formerly called the Gareth after Gareth Evans), the Elaine (for females making comments unhelpful to the sisterhood, named after Elaine Nile) and the Clinton (for repeat offenders). The categories of offenders have changed over the years, according to Meredith Burgmann

A collection of comments have been compiled in "One Thousand Terrible Things Australian Men Have Said About Women" by Meredith Burgmann and Yvette Andrews.

Other articles related to "ernie awards, ernie":

Ernie Awards - Winners - The Good Ernie
1994 Peter Sams 1995 Australian Manufacturing Workers Union 1996 Ernie Page 1997 Peter Cameron 1998 Ernie Page 1999 George Trumbull 2000 Bob Carr 2001 Bob Debus, Matt Foley, Rob ...