Emmy Award

An Emmy Award, or simply Emmy, is a television production award, and is considered the television equivalent to the Academy Awards (for film), the Tony Award (for theatre), and the Grammy Awards (for music).

A majority of Emmys are presented in various sectors of the American television industry. As such, the awards are presented in various area-specific ceremonies held annually throughout the year. The two ceremonies that usually receive the most media coverage are the Primetime Emmys and the Daytime Emmys, primarily recognizing excellence in American primetime and daytime entertainment programming, respectively. Other notable Emmy Award ceremonies include those honoring national sports programming, national news and documentary shows, national business and financial reporting, and technological and engineering achievements in television. Regional Emmy Awards are also presented throughout the country at various times through the year, recognizing excellence in local and state-to-state television. In addition, International Emmys are awarded to recognize excellence in TV programming produced and initially aired outside the United States.

Three related but separate organizations present the Emmy Awards: the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS), the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS), and the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. Each is responsible for administering a particular set of Emmy award shows.

Read more about Emmy AwardHistory, Emmy Statuette, Area-specific Ceremonies

Other articles related to "emmy award, award, awards, emmy awards":

Southland (TV Series) - Crew
... The series was created by Emmy Award-winning writer Ann Biderman, who began her television writing career on the first season of police drama NYPD Blue ... Wells and Chulack, both also Emmy Award winners, had previously worked together on critically acclaimed medical drama ER and emergency services drama Third Watch ... Emmy Award-winning writing team Mitchell Burgess Robin Green were hired as executive consultants and writers for the second and third seasons they had previously ...
Emmy Award - Area-specific Ceremonies - Other Emmys
... and programming to "advance the common good" The Bob Hope Humanitarian Award—awarded by the Academy Board of Governors The Governors Award honors the ... It is the highest award presented by the Academy ...
List Of Awards And Nominations Received By 30 Rock
... nominated for a variety of different awards, including 10 Emmy Award nominations for its first season alone, and a further 17 Emmy Award nominations in its second season ... The show won the Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Comedy Series for its first three seasons and has been nominated every year it has been eligible ... Lead actress Tina Fey has been nominated for awards twelve times for her role as Liz Lemon, the head writer of the fictional television show TGS with Tracy ...
Shane Stanley - Awards and Honors
... Lee Stanley, Gary Milton, David Fixx, and Carl Himmelman won Emmy Awards for their camera work on Desperate Passage which starred Michael Landon ... The show was a recipient of four Emmy Award nominations and won two, making Shane the youngest to have won the award in any non-actor category ... In 1990, Stanley was again nominated for an Emmy Award along with Lee Stanley and Gary Milton for their camera work on Maiden Voyage starring Sharon Gless ...
Sharyl Attkisson - Career - 2000s
... received an Investigative Reporters and Editors (I.R.E.) Finalist awards Dangerous Drugs in 2000 ... In 2001, Attkisson received an Investigative Emmy Award nomination for Firestone Tire Fiasco from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences ... That same year, Attkisson won a 2002 Emmy Award for her Investigative Journalism about the American Red Cross ...

Famous quotes containing the word award:

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)