Ecclesiastical Province

An ecclesiastical province is a large jurisdiction of religious government, so named by analogy with the secular Roman province. In those hierarchical Christian churches that have dioceses, a province is a collection of those dioceses. The Roman Catholic Church (both Latin and Eastern Catholic), the Orthodox Churches and the Anglican Communion all have provinces. These provinces are led by an archbishop.

In the early church and in some modern churches, a province's cathedral (sometimes called a "seat") and the cathedral's city is called a metropolis and the province's bishop is called, in turn, a metropolitan bishop or a metropolitan.

Read more about Ecclesiastical Province:  Religious Institutes

Other articles related to "ecclesiastical province, province, provinces, ecclesiastical":

List Of Roman Catholic Dioceses (structured View) - Europe - Episcopal Conference of France
... Ecclesiastical Province of Besançon Metropolitan Archdiocese of Besançon Diocese of Belfort-Montbéliard Diocese of Nancy Diocese of Saint-Claude ...
Ecclesiastical Province - Religious Institutes
... The term province, or occasionally religious province, also refers to a geographical and administrative subdivision in a number of orders and congregations ... A province of a religious institute is typically headed by a provincial superior ... The borders of a religious institute's provinces are determined independently of any diocesan structure, and so the borders often differ from the 'secular', or diocesan, ecclesiastical ...
List Of Roman Catholic Dioceses In Europe - List of Dioceses - Episcopal Conference of Spain
... Ecclesiastical province of Barcelona Archdiocese of Barcelona Diocese of Sant Feliu de Llobregat ... Ecclesiastical province of Burgos Archdiocese of Burgos ... Ecclesiastical province of Granada Archdiocese of Granada Diocese of Almería Diocese of Cartagena Diocese of Guadix Diocese of Jaén Diocese of Málaga Ecclesiastical province of Madrid Archdiocese of Madrid ...
Syro-Malabar Catholic Archdiocese Of Tellicherry
... The boundaries of the Thalassery ecclesiastical province were extended to include Mangalore, Chickamangalore, Mysore, Shimoga and Ootty as there were settlers in the neighbouring States ... The ecclesiastical province of Thalassery came into existence on December 31, 1953 through the Papal bull `Ad Christi Ecclesiam Regendam' issued by Pope Pius XII ... The ecclesiastical province was divided into the Diocese of Mananthavady and Diocese of Thalassery in 1973 and in 1986, the diocese of Thamarassery was erected ...

Famous quotes containing the word province:

    Female Virtues are of a Domestick turn. The Family is the proper Province for Private Women to Shine in. If they must be showing their Zeal for the Publick, let it not be against those who are perhaps of the same Family, or at least of the same Religion or Nation, but against those who are the open, professed, undoubted Enemies of their Faith, Liberty, and Country.
    Joseph Addison (1672–1719)