Dearne Valley

Coordinates: 53°30′N 1°13′W / 53.5°N 1.217°W / 53.5; -1.217 The Dearne Valley is an area of South Yorkshire along the River Dearne. It encompasses the towns of Wombwell, Wath-upon-Dearne, Swinton, Conisbrough and Mexborough, the large villages of Ardsley, Bolton on Dearne, Goldthorpe, Thurnscoe, Darfield, Stairfoot and Brampton Bierlow, and many other smaller villages and hamlets.

In 1995 the area became a regeneration area, as it had suffered much from the sudden decline of the deep coal mining industry in the 1980s. In the 2001 census the ONS-identified Dearne Valley urban area had a population of 207,726, however this region includes Barnsley and certain other smaller towns and villages that might not historically have considered themselves a part of the Dearne Valley.

Read more about Dearne ValleyHistory, The Valley Today

Other articles related to "dearne valley":

Dearne Valley - The Valley Today
... The Dearne Valley is at the centre of the trail with the main West/East and North/South routes crossing over in the area ...

Famous quotes containing the word valley:

    Half a league, half a league,
    Half a league onward,
    All in the valley of Death
    Rode the six hundred.
    “Forward the Light Brigade!
    Alfred Tennyson (1809–1892)