CFP Franc

The CFP franc (called the franc in everyday use) is the currency used in the French overseas collectivities (collectivités d’outre-mer, or COM) of French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna. The initials CFP originally stood for Colonies Françaises du Pacifique (“French colonies of the Pacific”). This was later changed to Communauté Financière du Pacifique (“Pacific Financial Community”) and then to the present official term, Comptoirs Français du Pacifique (“French Pacific Banking Agreement”). The ISO 4217 currency code is XPF.

Read more about CFP Franc:  Coins, Banknotes, Tārā

Other articles related to "franc, cfp franc, francs":

New Hebrides Franc - History
... Until World War II, the New Hebrides used the French franc and the British pound and Australian pounds ... In 1945, the CFP franc was introduced to insulate France's Pacific colonies from the devaluation of the French franc and the New Hebrides used a combination of New Caledonian franc coins and locally issued ... In 1949, the CFP franc's relationship to the French franc stabilized at 5.5 French francs = 1 CFP franc ...
Countries That Use The Franc - Countries Currently Using The Franc
... Countries Currency ISO 4217 code Benin West African CFA franc XOF Burkina Faso West African CFA franc XOF Burundi Burundi franc BIF Cameroon Central African CFA franc XAF Central African Republic ... Andorra The French franc and the Spanish peseta were replaced by the euro in 2002 ... Belgium The Belgian franc was replaced by the euro in 2002 ...
CFP Franc - Tārā
... Chinese traders as an unofficial unit, worth 5 francs ... Thus for a price of 200 francs, one would say tārā e maha-ʻahuru (40 tārā) in Tahitian ...