Bharatiya Janata Party

The Bharatiya Janata Party (Hindi: भारतीय जनता पार्टी; pronunciation; translation: Indian People's Party; often abbreviated as BJP) is one of the two major political parties in India, the other being the Indian National Congress. Established in 1980, it is India's second largest political party in terms of representation in the parliament and in the various state assemblies. The Bharatiya Janata Party advocates Hindu nationalism and social conservatism, self-reliance, social justice, foreign policy driven by a nationalist agenda, a strong national defense and a more economically liberal fiscal policy to that of the democratic socialist Indian National Congress, although the party manifesto strongly supports the welfare state and some aspects of Green politics.The party's platform is generally considered to the right of the Indian political spectrum.

The BJP headed the national government along with a coalition of parties of the NDA from 1998 to 2004, under the premiership of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, making it the first non-Congress government to last the full term in office. Since the 2004 election defeat the party has been the principal opposition in parliament.

Read more about Bharatiya Janata PartyHistory, Organization, Ideology and Political Positions, BJP in Various States, List of Presidents of The Party

Other articles related to "janata party, bharatiya janata party, party, bharatiya":

List Of Chief Ministers Of Himachal Pradesh - Chief Ministers of Himachal Pradesh
... Key INC Indian National Congress JP Janata Party BJP Bharatiya Janata Party # Name Took Office Left Office Party Days in Office 1 Yashwant Singh Parmar 8 March ...
List Of Rajya Sabha Members From Rajasthan
... upper house of Indian parliament ) from the state of Rajasthan No Name Party 1 Ramdas Agarwal Bharatiya Janata Party 2 Anand Sharma Indian National Congress 3 Ask Ali Tak Indian National Congress 4 Ram ...
Shajapur (Lok Sabha Constituency) - Members of Parliament
... Congress 1962 Did not exist 1967 Did not exist 1971 Jagannathrao Joshi, Bharatiya Jana Sangh (as Scheduled Caste seat) 1977 Phool Chand Verma, Bharatiya Lok Dal 1980 Phool Chand Verma ...
Surguja (Lok Sabha Constituency) - Members of Parliament
... National Congress 1971 Babu Nath Singh, Indian National Congress 1977 Larang Sai, Bharatiya Lok Dal 1984 Lal Vijay Pratap Singh, Indian National Congress 1989 Larang Sai, Bharatiya Janata Party ...

Famous quotes containing the word party:

    This Party is a moral crusade or it is nothing.
    Harold Wilson, Lord Riveaulx (1916–1995)