Bava Kamma

Bava Kamma (Aramaic: בבא קמא Babha Qamma, "The First Gate"; often transliterated Baḇa Ḳamma) is the first of a series of three Talmudic tractates in the order Nezikin ("Damages") that deal with civil matters such as damages and torts. The other two of these tractates are Bava Metzia and Bava Batra: originally all three formed a single tractate called Nezikin, each "Bava" meaning "part" or "subdivision". Bava Kamma discusses various forms of damage and the compensation owed for them.

Biblical laws dealing with the cases discussed in Bava Kamma are contained in the following passages: Exodus 21:18-19, and Exodus 21:24-22:5. The principle that underlies the legislation in this respect is expressed by the sentence, "He that kindled the fire shall surely make restitution". Exodus 22:5

Bava Kamma consists of ten chapters, which may be grouped as follows: damage caused without criminality (chaps. i-vi); damage caused by a criminal act (chaps. vii-x).

Read more about Bava KammaDamage Caused Without Criminality, Damage Caused By Criminal Acts, Talmud Yerushalmi and Talmud Bavli, Haggadic Elements

Other articles related to "bava kamma, bava":

Va'etchanan - Further Reading - Classical Rabbinic
... Mishnah Berakhot 11–36 95 Orlah 17 Shabbat 11–245 Sotah 71, 8 Kiddushin 17 Bava Kamma 57 Sanhedrin 24 Makkot 21–8 Avodah Zarah 11–512 Avot 38. 61 Maaser Sheni 528 Shekalim 22 Rosh Hashanah 213 Chagigah 27 Sotah 77, 17, 810 Bava Kamma 618, 79 Sanhedrin 47 Makkot 21–310 Avodah Zarah 116, 315. 29a–30b, 34a, 39b–40a, 57a, 58a, 68b Bava Kamma 41b, 54b–55a, 67b, 79b, 87a, 92b, 102b Bava Metzia 16b, 35a, 89a, 108a Bava Batra 110a Sanhedrin 4b ...
Bava Kamma - Haggadic Elements
... Mo'ed Katan Hagigah Yevamot Ketubot Nedarim Nazir Sotah Gittin Kiddushin Bava Kamma Bava Metzia Bava Batra Sanhedrin Makkot Shevu'ot Eduyot Avodah Zarah Avot ...
Naso (parsha) - Further Reading - Classical Rabbinic
... Megillah 36, 410 Moed Katan 31 Nazir 11–95 Sotah 11–915 Bava Kamma 911–12 Makkot 37–10 Avodah Zarah 59 Avot 521 Menachot 35–6 53, 6 61, 5 Chullin 1310 Meilah 32 Tamid 72 Middot 25 Kinnim. 11 Nazir 11–66 Sotah 11–1515 Gittin 27 Bava Kamma 1017–18 Makkot 35 Negaim 112 412 ... Gittin 37a, 60a Kiddushin 15a, 27b, 35a, 36b, 57b, 62a, 80b Bava Kamma 15a, 40b, 91b, 103b, 105a–06a, 109a–10b, 111a Bava Batra 121b Sanhedrin 10b, 16b, 22b, 32b, 35a, 45a ...