Aegean Islands

The Aegean Islands (Greek: Νησιά Αιγαίου, transliterated: Nisiá Aigaíou; Turkish: Ege Adaları) are the group of islands in the Aegean Sea, with mainland Greece to the west and north and Turkey to the east; the island of Crete delimits the sea to the south, those of Rhodes, Karpathos and Kasos to the southeast. The ancient Greek name of the Aegean Sea, Archipelago (ἀρχιπέλαγος) was later applied to the islands it contains and is now used more generally, to refer to any island group.

The Aegean Islands belong to Greece, being split among nine administrative peripheries. The only sizable possessions of Turkey in the Aegean Sea are Imbros (Gökçeada) and Tenedos (Bozcaada), in the northeastern end of the Sea. Turkish islands also include various smaller islets off Turkey's western coast.

The Aegean Islands are traditionally subdivided into seven groups, from north to south:

  • Northeastern Aegean Islands
  • Sporades
  • Euboea
  • Argo-Saronic Islands
  • Cyclades
  • Dodecanese (Southern Sporades)
  • Crete

The term Italian Aegean Islands (Italian: Isole Italiane dell’Egeo) is sometimes used to refer to the Aegean islands conquered by Italy during the Italo-Turkish War in 1912 and annexed (through the Treaty of Lausanne) from 1923 until 1947: the Dodecanese, including Rhodes and Kastelorizo.

Other articles related to "island, aegean, islands, aegean islands":

... Antipsara (Greek Αντίψαρα) is a small, Greek island in the Aegean Sea ... It lies about 3 km (2 mi) west of the larger island Psara, from which its name is derived ... During the Ottoman rule the island served as port ...
Tenedos - History - Between Turkey and Greece
... During the First Balkan War, on October 20, 1912, Tenedos was the first island of the north Aegean that came under the control of the Greek Navy ... By taking over the islands in the Northern Aegean sea, the Greek Navy limited the ability of the Ottoman fleet to move through the Dardanelles ... Greek administration of the island lasted until 12 November 1922 ...
North Aegean Islands
... The North Aegean islands are a number of disconnected islands in the north Aegean Sea, also known as the Northeast Aegean islands, belonging to Greece and Turkey ... The islands do not form a physical chain or group, but are frequently grouped together for tourist or administrative purposes ... To the south are the Dodecanese islands and to the west are the Cyclades and Sporades islands ...

Famous quotes containing the word islands:

    we are so many
    and many within themselves
    travel to far islands but no one
    asks for their story....
    Denise Levertov (b. 1923)