Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi (Arabic: أبو ظبي‎ Abu Dhabi, Father of Deer) is the capital and the second largest city of the United Arab Emirates in terms of population and the largest of the seven member emirates of the United Arab Emirates. Abu Dhabi lies on a T-shaped island jutting into the Persian Gulf from the central western coast. The city proper had a population of 621,000 in 2012.

Abu Dhabi houses important offices of the federal government, and is the seat for the United Arab Emirates Government and the home for the Abu Dhabi Emiri Family and the President of the UAE from this family. Abu Dhabi has grown to be a cosmopolitan metropolis. Its rapid development and urbanisation, coupled with the relatively high average income of its population, has transformed Abu Dhabi to a larger and advanced metropolis. Today the city is the country's center of political, industrial activities, and a major cultural, and commercial centre due to its position as the capital. Abu Dhabi alone generated 56.7% of the GDP of the United Arab Emirates in 2008.

Abu Dhabi is home to important financial institutions such as the Abu Dhabi Securities Exchange, the Central Bank of the United Arab Emirates and the corporate headquarters of many companies and numerous multinational corporations. One of the world's largest producers of oil, Abu Dhabi has actively attempted to diversify its economy in recent years through investments in financial services and tourism.

Abu Dhabi is the second most expensive city for expatriate employees in the region, and 67th most expensive city in the world. Fortune magazine and CNN stated that Abu Dhabi is the richest city in the world.

Read more about Abu DhabiGeography and Climate, Governance and Politics, Economy, Utility Services, City Planning, Demographics, Transportation, Culture, Education, Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Other articles related to "abu dhabi":

Subdivisions Of The United Arab Emirates - Government and Politics
... Council made up of the seven emirs of Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Fujairah, Sharjah, Dubai, Ras al-Khaimah and Umm al-Qaiwain ... The emir of Abu Dhabi holds the presidency, and the emir of Dubai is prime minister ... Abu Dhabi's crown prince, Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, is the heir apparent ...
Subdivisions Of The United Arab Emirates - Culture
... Abu Dhabi has established a culture district on Saadiyat Island ... There, six grand projects are planned, including the Guggenheim Abu Dhabi and the Louvre Abu Dhabi ... Dubai Media City and twofour54, Abu Dhabi's media zone, were set up to attract key players ...
Abu Dhabi - International Relations - Twin Towns and Cities
... Abu Dhabi is twinned with Bethlehem, Palestinian Authority Madrid, Spain Houston, Texas, United States Brisbane, Australia Islamabad, Pakistan Minsk, Belarus Nicosia, Cyprus Iquique, Chile Jakarta, Indonesia ...
Subdivisions Of The United Arab Emirates - Health
... emirates, which fall under its purview and which, unlike Abu Dhabi and Dubai, do not have separate healthcare authorities ... The introduction of mandatory health insurance in Abu Dhabi for expatriates and their dependants was a major driver in reform of healthcare policy ... Abu Dhabi nationals were brought under the scheme from 1 June 2008 and Dubai followed for its government employees ...
Subdivisions Of The United Arab Emirates
... The constituent emirates are Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain ... The capital is Abu Dhabi, which is also the state's center of commercial and cultural activities ... Since 1962, when Abu Dhabi became the first of the emirates to begin exporting oil, the country's society and economy have been transformed ...