1985 Calder Cup Playoffs

The 1985 Calder Cup playoffs of the American Hockey League began on April 10, 1985. The eight teams that qualified, four from each division, played best-of-seven series for Division Semifinals and Division Finals. The division champions played a best-of-seven series for the Calder Cup. The Calder Cup Final ended on May 24, 1985 with the Sherbrooke Canadiens defeating the Baltimore Skipjacks four games to two to win the Calder Cup for the only time in team history. Sherbrooke's Brian Skrudland won the Jack A. Butterfield Trophy as AHL playoff MVP.

The Maine Mariners set an AHL playoff record during the Northern division final against Sherbrooke by scoring three goals 23 seconds apart. Maine scored at 19:29, 19:42, and 19:52 of the second period in the game, thereby setting a new AHL playoff record for the three fastest goals scored.

Read more about 1985 Calder Cup Playoffs:  Playoff Seeds, Bracket

Famous quotes containing the words cup and/or calder:

    I worked as a waitress till I was fired because I dumped a cup of hot coffee in the lap of a half-drunk guy who was pinching my butt.
    Juli Loesch (b. c. 1953)

    Dr. Calder [a Unitarian minister] said of Dr. [Samuel] Johnson on the publications of Boswell and Mrs. Piozzi, that he was like Actaeon, torn to pieces by his own pack.
    Horace Walpole (1717–1797)