Wolf Prize in Mathematics

The Wolf Prize in Mathematics is awarded almost annually by the Wolf Foundation in Israel. It is one of the six Wolf Prizes established by the Foundation and awarded since 1978; the others are in Agriculture, Chemistry, Medicine, Physics and Arts. Until the establishment of the Abel Prize, the Prize was probably the closest equivalent of a "Nobel Prize in Mathematics", since the more prestigious Fields Medal is only awarded every 4 years to mathematicians under 40.

Read more about Wolf Prize In Mathematics:  Laureates

Other articles related to "wolf prize in mathematics, mathematics":

Wolf Prize In Mathematics - Laureates
... his seminal contributions to many areas of mathematics and its applications ... which have profoundly influenced all mathematics ... United States for his outstanding contributions to many areas of analysis and applied mathematics ...

Famous quotes containing the words mathematics, wolf and/or prize:

    It is a monstrous thing to force a child to learn Latin or Greek or mathematics on the ground that they are an indispensable gymnastic for the mental powers. It would be monstrous even if it were true.
    George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)

    A wolf does not kill another wolf.
    Estonian proverb, trans by Ilse Lehiste (1993)

    To a maiden true he’ll give his hand,
    Hey lillie, ho lillie lallie,
    To the king’s daughter o’ fair England,
    To a prize that was won by a slain brother’s brand,
    I’ the brave nights so early.
    Unknown. Earl Brand (l. 67–71)