Village Development Committee

A village development committee (VDC) (Nepali: गाउँ बिकास समिति; Gāun Bikās Samiti) in Nepal is the lower administrative part of its local development ministry. Each district has several VDCs, similar to municipalities but with greater public-government interaction and administration. There are 3913 village development committees in Nepal. A VDC is further divided into wards (Nepali: वडा), the number depending on the population of the district, the average is nine wards.

Read more about Village Development Committee:  Purpose, Organization, Achham District, Arghakhanchi District, Baitadi District, Bajhang District, Bajura District, Banke District, Bara District, Bardiya District, Bhaktapur District, Bhojpur District, Chitwan District, Dadeldhura District, Dailekh District, Dang Deokhuri District, Darchula District, Dhading District, Dhankuta District, Dhanusa District, Dolakha District, Dolpa District, Doti District, Gorkha District, Gulmi District, Humla District, Ilam District, Jajarkot District, Jhapa District, Jumla District, Kailali District, Kalikot District, Kanchanpur District, Kapilvastu District, Kaski District, Kathmandu District, Kavrepalanchok District, Khotang District, Lalitpur District, Lamjung District, Mahottari District, Manang District, Morang District, Mugu District, Mustang District, Myagdi District, Nawalparasi District, Nuwakot District, Okhaldhunga District, Palpa District, Panchthar District, Parbat District, Parsa District, Pyuthan District, Ramechhap District, Rasuwa District, Rautahat District, Rolpa District, Rukum District, Rupandehi District, Salyan District, Sankhuwasabha District, Saptari District, Sindhuli District, Sindhulpalchok District, Siraha District, Solukhumbu District, Sunsari District, Surkhet District, Syangja District, Tanahu District, Taplejung District, Terhathum District, Udayapur District

Other articles related to "village development committee, villages":

... Savapokhari is a village development committee in Sankhuwasabha District in the Kosi Zone of north-eastern Nepal ... Shavapokhari village development committee contains 9 wards ... The major attraction of this village development committee is Shavapokhari lake ...
... Jhalari झलारी is a Village Development Committee in Kanchanpur District in the Mahakali Zone of South-Far-Western Nepal ... Jhalari is a VDC (Village Development Committee) located 20.5 km from the Mahendra Nagar. 3 Banjariya, Toti(Tripureswor), Located in the middle of Jhalari VDC surrounded by villages from all sides ...

Famous quotes containing the words committee, village and/or development:

    The absence on the panel of anyone who could become pregnant accidentally or discover her salary was five thousand dollars a year less than that of her male counterpart meant there was a hole in the consciousness of the committee that empathy, however welcome, could not entirely fill.
    Anna Quindlen (b. 1953)

    Zhivago: It seems you bombed the wrong village.
    Strelnikov: They always say that. And what does it matter? A village betrays us, a village is burned. The point made.
    Zhivago: Your point. Their village.
    Robert Bolt (1924–1995)

    The proper aim of education is to promote significant learning. Significant learning entails development. Development means successively asking broader and deeper questions of the relationship between oneself and the world. This is as true for first graders as graduate students, for fledging artists as graying accountants.
    Laurent A. Daloz (20th century)