Viktor Korchnoi

Viktor Korchnoi

Viktor Lvovich Korchnoi (Russian: Ви́ктор Льво́вич Корчно́й; ; born March 23, 1931) is a professional chess player, author and currently the oldest active grandmaster on the tournament circuit. He was born in Leningrad, USSR, defected to the Netherlands in 1976, and has been residing in Switzerland for many years.

Korchnoi played three matches against Anatoly Karpov, the latter two for the World Chess Championship. In 1974, he lost the Candidates final to Karpov, who was declared world champion in 1975 when Bobby Fischer failed to defend his title. Then he won consecutive Candidates cycles to qualify for World Championship matches with Karpov in 1978 and 1981, losing both.

In all, Korchnoi was a candidate for the World Championship on ten occasions (1962, 1968, 1971, 1974, 1977, 1980, 1983, 1985, 1988 and 1991). Korchnoi was also a four-time USSR chess champion, a five-time member of Soviet teams that won the European championship, and a six-time member of Soviet teams that won the Chess Olympiad. In September 2006, he won the World Senior Chess Championship.

Read more about Viktor KorchnoiEarly Life and Career, Young Master, International Soviet Teams Standout, Strong Grandmaster, World Title Candidate, Defection, First World Championship Match Against Karpov, Second World Championship Match Against Karpov, Later Career, World Senior Chess Champion, Swiss National Champion, Books, Quotations Attributed To Korchnoi

Other articles related to "viktor korchnoi, korchnoi":

Tata Steel Chess Tournament - Tournament History - Hoogovens Wijk Aan Zee
... Grandmaster A group since 1968 have been 1968 - Viktor Korchnoi 1969 - Mikhail Botvinnik and Efim Geller 1970 - Mark Taimanov 1971 - Viktor Korchnoi 1972 - Lajos Portisch 1973 - Mikhail Tal 1974 ...
World Chess Championship 1978 - 1977 Candidates Tournament
... (by forfeiture) and runner-up of the previous Candidates tournament, respectively, Korchnoi and Bobby Fischer were seeded directly into the tournament ... by the top three from each of the two interzonals 1st Round Semifinals Final Viktor Korchnoi (stateless) 6½ Tigran Petrosian 5½ Viktor Korchnoi 8½ Lev Polugaevsky 4½ Lev Polugaevsky 6 ...
Leningrad City Chess Championship - List of Winners
... Semyon Furman 1954 ... Nikolai Georgiyevich Kopilov 1955 ... Viktor Korchnoi 1956 ... Pavel Yevseyevich Kondratiev 1957 ... Viktor Korchnoi Semyon Furman ...
Swiss Chess Championship - Men's Champions
... Kaenel 1981 Biel Heinz Wirthensohn 1982 Silvaplana Viktor Korchnoi 1983 Baden Andreas Huss 1984 Arosa Viktor Korchnoi 1985 Silvaplana Viktor Korchnoi ...