Turing Award

Turing Award

The ACM A.M. Turing Award is an annual prize given by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) to "an individual selected for contributions of a technical nature made to the computing community". It is stipulated that "The contributions should be of lasting and major technical importance to the computer field". The Turing Award is recognized as the "highest distinction in Computer science" and "Nobel Prize of computing".

The award is named after Alan Turing, mathematician and reader in mathematics at the University of Manchester. Turing is "frequently credited for being the Father of theoretical computer science and artificial intelligence". As of 2007, the award is accompanied by a prize of $250,000, with financial support provided by Intel and Google.

The first recipient, in 1966, was Alan Perlis, of Carnegie Mellon University. Frances E. Allen of IBM, in 2006, was the first female recipient in the award's forty year history. The 2008 award also went to a woman, Barbara Liskov.

Read more about Turing AwardRecipients

Other articles related to "turing award, award":

List Of Jewish American Computer Scientists
... intelligence Len Adleman, RSA cryptography, DNA computing, Turing Award (2002) Paul Baran, packet switching Dan Bernstein, cryptologist (unconfirmed) Manuel Blum, computational complexity, Turing Award (1995 ... half Jewish) Bob Kahn, TCP/IP Richard Karp, computational complexity, Turing Award (1985) John Kemeny, BASIC Leonard Kleinrock, packet switching Joseph Kruskal, Kruskal's algorithm Solomon ... Perlis, compilers, Turing Award (1966) Lawrence Rabiner, digital signal processing Frank Rosenblatt, perceptrons Azriel Rosenfeld, image analysis Bruce Schneier, cryptographer Adi Shamir, cryptographer Herbert A ...
Ken Thompson - Awards - Turing Award
... In 1983, Thompson and Ritchie jointly received the Turing Award for their development of generic operating systems theory and specifically for the ...
Israeli Boxers - Academic Figures - Computing and Mathematics
... – representation theory Wolf Prize in Mathematics (1990) Amir Pnueli – temporal logic Turing Award (1996) Michael O ... Rabin – nondeterminism, primality testing Turing Award (1976) Shmuel Safra – computer scientist, winner of the (2001) Nir Shavit- computer scientist, winner of the (2001 ...
List Of Duke University People - Alumni - Medicine, Science and Technology
... considered the father of the RISC computer architecture, Turing Award laureate in 1987 Richard Cytowic (B.A. 1982), infectious disease specialist, winner of MacArthur Award, subject of Pulitzer-prize winning author Tracy Kidder's biography Mountains Beyond ... Turing Award in 2007 ...

Famous quotes containing the word award:

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)