The Tale of Tsar Saltan (Rimsky-Korsakov)

The Tale Of Tsar Saltan (Rimsky-Korsakov)

The Tale of Tsar Saltan (Russian: Сказка о царе Салтане, Skazka o Tsare Saltane) is an opera in four acts with a prologue, seven scenes, by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. The libretto was written by Vladimir Belsky, and is based on the poem of the same name by Aleksandr Pushkin. The opera was composed in 1899–1900 to coincide with Pushkin's centenary, and was first performed in 1900 in Moscow, Russia.

The lengthy full title of both the opera and the poem is The Tale of Tsar Saltan, of his Son the Renowned and Mighty Bogatyr Prince Gvidon Saltanovich and of the Beautiful Princess-Swan.

Note: The name "Saltan" is often erroneously rendered "Sultan". Likewise, another mistranslation of the Russian title found in English makes this a "legend" rather than simply a "tale" or "fairytale".

Read more about The Tale Of Tsar Saltan (Rimsky-Korsakov):  Composition History, Performance History, Roles, Synopsis, Gallery of Illustrations, Principal Arias and Numbers, Repertory Status, Concert Excerpts, Recordings

Other articles related to "tsar":

The Tale Of Tsar Saltan (Rimsky-Korsakov) - Recordings
1959, Vasily Nebolsin (conductor), Bolshoy Theatre Orchestra and Chorus, Ivan Petrov (TsarSaltan), Evgeniya Smolenskaya (Tsaritsa Militrisa), Larisa Nikitina (Tkachikha), Yelizaveta Shumilova (Povarikha ...

Famous quotes containing the word tale:

    Some say that ever ‘gainst that season comes
    Wherein our Saviour’s birth is celebrated,
    The bird of dawning singeth all night long:
    And then, they say, no spirit dare stir abroad,
    The nights are wholesome, then no planets strike,
    No fairy tale nor witch hath power to charm,
    So hallow’d and so gracious is the time.
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)