Théâtre De La Ville - Later History - Théâtre De La Ville

Théâtre De La Ville

The theatre first acquired the name Théâtre de la Ville in 1968. Since the late 1970s, the institution, under the direction of Jean Mercure (1968-1985) then of Gérard Violette (1985-2008), produces a good quantity of dance shows being considered as a real international achievement in the field of contemporary dance. For example, the Théâtre de la Ville revealed and promoted famous choreographers like Pina Bausch, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jan Fabre, Sankai Juku, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Merce Cunningham or Carolyn Carlson amongst others.

Read more about this topic:  Théâtre De La Ville, Later History