Symphony No. 1 (Scriabin)

Symphony No. 1 (Scriabin)

Alexander Scriabin's Symphony No. 1, Op. 26, in E major was written in 1899 and 1900. It is an ambitious first symphony, consisting of six movements the last of which has a chorus and two vocal soloists.

  • I. Lento
  • II. Allegro dramatico
  • III. Lento
  • IV. Vivace
  • V. Allegro
  • VI. Andante

Read more about Symphony No. 1 (Scriabin):  History, Finale

Famous quotes containing the word symphony:

    The truth is, as every one knows, that the great artists of the world are never Puritans, and seldom even ordinarily respectable. No virtuous man—that is, virtuous in the Y.M.C.A. sense—has ever painted a picture worth looking at, or written a symphony worth hearing, or a book worth reading, and it is highly improbable that the thing has ever been done by a virtuous woman.
    —H.L. (Henry Lewis)