Sydney FC

Sydney FC is a professional football (soccer) club based in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia and competes in the country's premier football (soccer) competition, the A-League. Sydney FC were inaugural winners of the A-League in 2006 and are considered one of the most successful teams in Australia having won two national A-League Championships (2006 and 2010) and one Premiers' Plate (2010). Sydney also remain the only A-League team ever to win the OFC Champions League as since 2006 A-League teams have gained qualification to the AFC Champions League instead, in which Sydney has also competed. They finished 2nd in the group stage of the 2007 season of the tournament and also competed in the 2011 season. Having won titles in the W-League and in the National Youth League Sydney hold the distinction of being the only club in the A-League to have won all 3 competitions.

Its home ground is Allianz Stadium, a 45,500 seat multi-use venue in the suburb of Moore Park. Right from the beginning Sydney FC was marketed as the "glamour club" of the new competition, with the involvement of the club's high-profile personnel, including investor and actor Anthony LaPaglia, ex-Manchester United star Dwight Yorke as the team's first "marquee player" and 1990 FIFA World Cup winner Pierre Littbarski as manager in the first season. Sydney went on to sign Former English International defender Terry Butcher as the 2006–07 season coach, Brazilian superstar midfielder Juninho Paulista in the 2007–08 season, Socceroos legend John Aloisi as striker in their 2008–09 season, and Italian legend Alessandro Del Piero in the 2012–13 season, with each as the highest paid footballer in Australia in their respective seasons. Strikers Benito Carbone of Italy, and Japanese legend Kazuyoshi Miura have also made appearances in the sky blue jersey.

Read more about Sydney FCHistory, Colours and Badge, Stadium, Supporters, Rivalries, Academy, Notable Former Players, International Players, Captains, Managers, Other Staff, Sponsorship, Affiliated Clubs

Other articles related to "sydney fc, sydney":

List Of Foreign Players In The W-League (Australia) - Current - New Zealand
... Hannah Bromley (Sydney FC) - 2012– Aroon Clansey (Canberra United) - 2011– Abby Erceg (Adelaide United) - 2011– Emma Kete (Perth Glory) - 2011–12 (Sydney FC) - 2012 ...
List Of Foreign Players In The W-League (Australia) - Former - United States of America
... United) - 2011–12 Estelle Johnson (Sydney FC) - 2011–2012 Allison Lipsher (Newcastle Jets) 2010–2011 (Sydney FC) - 2011–2012 Jillian Loyden (Central Coast Mariners) - 2009 Megan ...
Shannon Cole - Club Career - Sydney FC
... On 15 August 2008 he was signed by Sydney FC on a two year contract from Sydney Olympic ... Mariners that curled over the wall into the bottom corner to put Sydney in the lead 3–2 ... In December he scored his third goal for Sydney in their 3–2 loss to Melbourne Victory ...
Sydney FC - Affiliated Clubs
... Shanghai Shenhua — In December 2008 Sydney management released a statement that Sydney had signed a permanent sister-club relationship with Chinese Super League Club Shanghai Shenhua, both clubs will ...
Sydney FC W-League
... The Sydney FC W-League team, also known as the Sydney FC Women, represents Sydney FC in the Australian Women's National football (soccer) League, the W-League ...

Famous quotes containing the word sydney:

    Turn up the lights; I don’t want to go home in the dark.
    O. Henry [William Sydney Porter] (1862–1910)