Staffordshire (/ˈstæfərdʃɪər/ or /ˈstæfərdʃər/; abbreviated Staffs) is a landlocked county in the West Midlands region of England. Part of the National Forest lies within its borders. It adjoins the ceremonial counties of Cheshire (to the north west), Derbyshire (to the east), Leicestershire (to the east), Warwickshire (to the south east), West Midlands (to the south), Worcestershire (to the south), and Shropshire (to the west).

The largest city in Staffordshire is Stoke-on-Trent, which is administered separately from the rest of the county as an independent unitary authority. Lichfield also has city status, although this is a considerably smaller cathedral city. Major towns include Stafford (the county town), Burton upon Trent, Cannock, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Leek and Tamworth.

Wolverhampton, Walsall, West Bromwich and Smethwick were also in Staffordshire until local government reorganisation in 1974, but are now within the West Midlands County in the West Midlands Conurbation.

With the exception of Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire is divided into the districts of Cannock Chase, East Staffordshire, Lichfield, Newcastle-under-Lyme, South Staffordshire, Stafford, Staffordshire Moorlands, and Tamworth.

For Eurostat purposes the county (less the unitary district of Stoke-on-Trent) is a NUTS 3 region (code UKG24). Together with Stoke-on-Trent and the authorities covering the ceremonial county of Shropshire, it comprises the "Shropshire and Staffordshire" NUTS 2 region.

Read more about Staffordshire:  History, Economy, Education, Sport, Geography, Demographics, Government, Towns and Villages, Dogs, Media, Places of Interest, Gallery

Other articles related to "staffordshire":

South Staffordshire Railway Walk
... South Staffordshire Railway Walk Location County Staffordshire Walk Length 5.5 miles Type Railway Walk Established unknown Administration Administrative ...
Sir Edward Manningham-Buller, 1st Baronet
... He was Member of Parliament (MP) for North Staffordshire from 1833 to 1841, for Stafford from 1841 to 1847, and for North Staffordshire again from 1865 to 1874 ... He was made a Baronet in 1866, of Dilhorne, in the County of Staffordshire ...
Milton, Staffordshire
... Milton is located in Stoke on Trent, Staffordshire, England ... Milton once had a station on the North Staffordshire Railway ...
List Of United Kingdom Parliament Constituencies (1885–1918) - W
... County Successor Wakefield West Riding of Yorkshire Walsall Staffordshire Walthamstow Essex Walworth London Wandsworth London Wansbeck Northumberland Warrington Lancashire Warwick and ...
Staffordshire - Transport - Canals
... Staffordshire has an extensive network of canals including the Birmingham and Fazeley Canal, Caldon Canal, Coventry Canal, Shropshire Union Canal, Staffordshire and Worcestershire Canal and Trent and Mersey Canal ...