Sanyō Shinkansen

The Sanyō Shinkansen (山陽新幹線, San'yō Shinkansen?) is a line of the Japanese Shinkansen high-speed rail network, connecting Shin-Ōsaka in Osaka with Hakata Station in Fukuoka, the two largest cities in western Japan. Operated by the West Japan Railway Company (JR West), it is a westward continuation of the Tōkaidō Shinkansen and also serves other major cities in between on Honshu and Kyushu islands such as Kobe, Himeji, Okayama, Hiroshima, and Kitakyushu. The Sanyō Shinkansen connects Hakata with Osaka in two-and-a-half hours, with trains operating at maximum operating speed of 300 km/h (190 mph) (with the exception of trains toward Shin-Ōsaka have maximum limit between Himeji and Shin-Kobe of 275 km/h and trains toward Hakata have a maximum limit of 285 km/h from Shin-Ōsaka to Shin-Kobe and 275 km/h from Shin-Kobe to Nishi-Akashi). Some Nozomi trains operate continuously on Sanyō and Tōkaidō Shinkansen lines, connecting Tokyo and Hakata in five hours.

Read more about Sanyō Shinkansen:  Trains, Stations, History, Ridership

Other articles related to "shinkansen":

Shin-Kobe Station - Layout - Sanyō Shinkansen
1 ■Sanyo Shinkansen for Okayama, Hakata and Kagoshima-chuo 2 ■Sanyo Shinkansen for Shin-Osaka, Nagoya and Tokyo ...
Himeji Station - Platforms
... Kobe Line) 3, 4 ■ Kishin Line for Harima-Shingū, Sayo 5, 6 ■ JR Kobe Line (Sanyō Main Line) (eastbound) for Kakogawa, Sannomiya, Ōsaka 5 □ Limited ...
Sanyō Shinkansen - Ridership
... In fiscal 2005, the Sanyo Shinkansen line ridership was 58 million passengers/year, or about 159,000 daily ...