Recopa Sudamericana

The Recopa Santander Sudamericana (Brazilian Portuguese: Recopa Santander Sul-americana), known also as the Recopa Sudamericana and simply as the Recopa (English: Winner's Cup), is an annual international club football competition organized by CONMEBOL since 1988. It is an annual match-up between the champions of the previous year's Copa Libertadores and the Copa Sudamericana, South America's premier club competitions.

The competition has had several different formats over its lifetime. Initially, the champions of the Copa Libertadores and Supercopa Libertadores disputed it. In 1998, the Supercopa Libertadores was discontinued and the Recopa went into a hiatus. The competition has been disputed with either a presently-used two-legged series or a single match-up at a neutral venue. Together with the aforementioned tournaments, a club has the chance to win the CONMEBOL Treble all in one year or season.

The last champion of the competition is Brazilian club Santos, after beating Universidad de Chile 2-0 on aggregate. Argentine club Boca Juniors is the most successful club in the cup history, having won the tournament four times. Brazilian clubs have accumulated the most amount of victories with seven wins while Brazil has the largest number of different winning teams, with a total of five clubs having won the title. The cup has been won by 13 different clubs and won consecutively by three clubs; São Paulo, Boca Juniors, and LDU Quito successfully defended the title in 1994, 2006, and 2010, respectively.

Read more about Recopa Sudamericana:  History, Format, Trophy, Match Ball, Sponsorship, Records and Statistics

Other articles related to "sudamericana, recopa sudamericana":

List Of Boca Juniors Head Coaches - Head Coaches
... Omar Pastoriza 1988–89 Carlos Aimar 1989–90 1 Supercopa Sudamericana 1 Recopa Sudamericana Osvaldo Potente 1990 Oscar Tabárez July 1991–June 1 ... Primera División 1 Supercopa ...
Cienciano - History - Recopa Sudamericana
... After winning the Copa Sudamericana, Cienciano went on to play against Boca Juniors of Argentina, another South American giant, for the 2004 Recopa Sudamericana, this being just one match, much like UEFA's ...
Supercopa Libertadores
... These tournaments were also discontinued in favor of the Copa Sudamericana which allowed the revival of the Recopa Sudamericana ... of the tournament would go on to play the winner of the Copa Libertadores in the Recopa Sudamericana ... Since the abolition of the Supercopa, the Recopa Sudamericana place previously reserved for the Supercopa winner has been taken by the winner of the Copa ...
Records And Statistics Of The Copa Libertadores - Clubs - Winning Other Trophies - Doubles
... Intercontinental Cup and 1979 Copa Interamericana 1990 Copa Libertadores and 1990 Supercopa Sudamericana + 1991 Recopa Sudamericana Argentinos Juniors 1985 Copa Libertadores and Campeonato Nacional ... official Cups, namely Copa Libertadores, Supercopa Sudamericana or Copa Sudamericana and Recopa Sudamericana ...