Patriot League

The Patriot League is a college athletic conference comprising private institutions and two United States service academies of higher education based in the Northeast United States. Outside of the Ivy League, it is the most selective group of higher education institutions in Division I and has the second highest student-athlete graduation rate following the Ivy League.

The Patriot League consists of eight core members: American University, United States Military Academy (Army), Bucknell University, Colgate University, College of the Holy Cross, Lafayette College, Lehigh University, and the United States Naval Academy (Navy).

All eight core members participate in the NCAA's Division I for all sports. Since not all Patriot League schools sponsor every available NCAA sport, such as ice hockey, several schools are affiliated with other collegiate conferences. Additionally, the Patriot League has a unique arrangement for football. Army and Navy are Independents in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), while Bucknell, Colgate, Holy Cross, Lafayette, and Lehigh are members of the Patriot League’s Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) conference. American does not sponsor football.

There are three private institutions that are only Patriot League members for specific sports and are referred to as ‘Patriot League associate members.’ Fordham University and Georgetown University are associate members in football, while MIT is an associate member in women’s rowing.

Boston University and Loyola University Maryland will join the league as core members for the 2013-14 academic year. Neither school sponsors football.

Read more about Patriot League:  About, History, Basketball, Field Hockey, Football, Facilities, Literature

Other articles related to "patriot league, league":

Sean Conover - College Career
... Conover, as senior, started all 11 games and repeated as First-team All-Patriot League selection ... As junior, Conover started all 11 games and named Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year ... Also earned First-team All-Patriot League, George Rieu Award as Bucknell's top defensive lineman and Tom Gadd Coaches' Award ...
Lafayette Leopards - Varsity Sports - Men's Basketball
... until 1990, when they left as a founding member of the Patriot League, their current affiliation ... Up until 2006, Lafayette was the only team outside of the Ivy League that did not award athletic scholarships in men's basketball ... Other Patriot League teams did not award scholarships, but the policy was gradually dropped by fellow Patriot League schools, leaving Lafayette the lone hold out ...
Lehigh Mountain Hawks Football - Lafayette Rivalry
... the last 11 at Goodman, and 16 of 25 since Patriot League play began ... four PL championships and went 30-9 in league play ... Lembo’s team promptly went 11-0 and won the Patriot League ...
Lehigh Mountain Hawks Football
... Football Championship Subdivision level as members of the Patriot League ... Since 1986, Lehigh has been a charter member of the Patriot League, formerly called the Colonial League ... Lehigh has won ten Patriot League titles and has played in 20 post season games, winning 10 of the contests ...
Patriot League - Literature
... The Patriot League was profiled in the John Feinstein book, The Last Amateurs ... The title is derived from the belief that the Patriot League was the last Division I basketball league which functions as a place for student-athletes, rather than functioning as a de facto minor ... In it, Feinstein followed all the league's men's basketball teams during the 1999–2000 season ...

Famous quotes containing the words league and/or patriot:

    We’re the victims of a disease called social prejudice, my child. These dear ladies of the law and order league are scouring out the dregs of the town. C’mon be a glorified wreck like me.
    Dudley Nichols (1895–1960)

    “My country, right or wrong” is a thing that no patriot would think of saying except in a desperate case. It is like saying “My mother, drunk or sober.”
    Gilbert Keith Chesterton (1874–1936)