Płock County

Płock County (Polish: powiat płocki) is a unit of territorial administration and local government (powiat) in Masovian Voivodeship, east-central Poland. It came into being on January 1, 1999, as a result of the Polish local government reforms passed in 1998. Its administrative seat is the city of Płock, although the city is not part of the county (it constitutes a separate city county). The county contains three towns: Gąbin, 17 km (11 mi) south of Płock, Drobin, 29 km (18 mi) north-east of Płock, and Wyszogród, 39 km (24 mi) south-east of Płock.

The county covers an area of 1,798.71 square kilometres (694.5 sq mi). As of 2006 its total population is 106,455, out of which the population of Gąbin is 4,137, that of Drobin is 2,980, that of Wyszogród is 2,772, and the rural population is 96,566.

Read more about Płock CountyNeighbouring Counties, Administrative Division

Other related articles:

Ludwikowo, Płock County
... district of Gmina Stara Biała, within Płock County, Masovian Voivodeship, in east-central Poland ... of Biała, 7 km (4 mi) north-west of Płock, and 103 km (64 mi) north-west of Warsaw ...
Płock County - Administrative Division
... The county is subdivided into 15 gminas (three urban-rural and 12 rural) ... These are listed in the following table, in descending order of population ...

Famous quotes containing the word county:

    Hold hard, my county darlings, for a hawk descends,
    Golden Glamorgan straightens, to the falling birds.
    Your sport is summer as the spring runs angrily.
    Dylan Thomas (1914–1953)