Ottawa Senators

The Ottawa Senators are a professional ice hockey team based in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. They are members of the Northeast Division of the Eastern Conference of the National Hockey League (NHL). The Senators play their home games at the 19,153 seat (20,500 capacity) Scotiabank Place which opened in 1996.

Founded and established by Ottawa real estate developer Bruce Firestone, the team is the second NHL franchise to use the Ottawa Senators name. The original Ottawa Senators, founded in 1883, had a famed history, winning 11 Stanley Cups and playing in the NHL from 1917 until 1934. On December 6, 1990, after a two-year public campaign by Firestone, the NHL awarded a new franchise, which began play in the 1992–93 season. The current team owner is Eugene Melnyk, and in 2011, the club was valued by Forbes Magazine at $201 million.

The team has had success, qualifying for the Stanley Cup playoffs in twelve of the past fourteen seasons, four division titles, the Presidents' Trophy in 2003 and appeared in the 2007 Stanley Cup Finals. The success has been reflected in attendance. The club has averaged over 18,000 fans per game since 2005–06, peaking at 19,821 in 2007–08.

Read more about Ottawa SenatorsHistory

Other articles related to "ottawa senators, senators, ottawa":

Lionel Hitchman - Ottawa Senators
... the end of the New Edinburghs' playoffs that season, Hitchman was signed by the Senators in 1923, first appearing in a victory against the Hamilton Tigers on February 28 ... His first playoff game for the Senators was tumultuous, a match against the Montreal Canadiens on March 7 in which future teammate Sprague Cleghorn - with whom he had been sparring all ... Eskimos of the Western Canada Hockey League, Hitchman starred in a decimated Senators' defence, scoring the tying goal which sent the first game into overtime, won by the Senators en route to their tenth ...
Ottawa Senators - Team Record - Team Records
... Tugnutt 1.79 1998–99 Best save percentage in a season Ron Tugnutt.925 1998–99 Source Ottawa Senators ...
List Of Ice Hockey Teams In Ontario - Major Professional - National Hockey League - Current Teams
... Team City Established Stanley Cups Notes Ottawa Senators Ottawa 0 ... The original Ottawa Senators who won 11 Stanley Cups were moved to St Louis in the 1920s ... The present Ottawa Senators (EST 1992) have not won a cup since their inaugural season ...
List Of Current NHL Eastern Conference Team Rosters - Division C - Ottawa Senators
... L 2013 ... Lloydminster, Alberta 3 Canada ! Methot, MarcMarc Methot 2.0 !D L 2012 ... Ottawa, Ontario 9 Czech Republic ! Michalek, MilanMilan Michalek 6.0 !LW L ...
List Of Team Payrolls In The NHL - Eastern Conference - Northeast Division - Ottawa Senators
... These are the salaries for the Ottawa Senators ... Year Team payroll % change Median salary Top paid player(s) Highest salary 1998–99 $21,000,000 1999–2000 $21,700,000 3.33% 2000–01 $29,086,250 34.04% $862,500 Alexei Yashin $3,600,000 2001–02 $27,220,750 -6.41% $800,000 Daniel Alfredsson $3,000,000 2002–03 $34,340,000 26.15% $1,000,000 Daniel Alfredsson $4,550,000 2003–04 $39,590,000 15.29% $1,075,000 Daniel Alfredsson $5,050,000 2005–06 $36,909,094 -6.77% $1,100,000 Daniel Alfredsson $4,662,894 2006–07 $43,630,310 18.21% $1,500,000 Wade Redden $6,500,000 2007–08 $49,997,370 14.59% $1,300,000 Wade Redden $6,500,000 ...

Famous quotes containing the word senators:

    When he laughed, respectable senators burst with laughter,
    And when he cried the little children died in the streets.
    —W.H. (Wystan Hugh)