Ohio Senate

The Ohio Senate is the upper house of the Ohio General Assembly, the legislative body for the U.S. state of Ohio. There are 33 State Senators. The state legislature meets in the state capital, Columbus. The President of the Senate presides over the body when in session, and is currently Tom Niehaus.

Senators serve four year terms. The terms of the Senators are staggered so that approximately half the membership is elected every two years. The Senators representing the even-numbered districts are elected in years evenly divisible by four. The Senators from the odd-numbered districts are elected in the intervening even-numbered years. Senators are limited to two terms.

Each Senator represents approximately 330,000 Ohioans, and each Senate District encompasses three corresponding Ohio House Districts.

Read more about Ohio SenateComposition

Other articles related to "ohio senate, ohio, senate":

Joy Padgett - Political Career
... Padgett was first appointed to the Ohio Senate in January 2004 and elected that following November ... Before that, she served from 1993 to 1999 in the Ohio House of Representatives and, prior to that, had been a school teacher ... In her 2004 bid for her first full term in the Ohio Senate, Padgett was challenged by Democrat Terry Anderson of Athens, Ohio, who in the 1980s had been held hostage by Islamic radicals in Lebanon when working on ...
Stan Aronoff
... Republican party who served for a time as president of the Ohio Senate ... and Republican operative George Eyrich persuaded Aronoff to run for a seat in the Ohio General Assembly ... He began serving in the Ohio House of Representatives in 1961 and was re-elected twice, serving until 1967 ...
Shannon Jones - Ohio Senate
... Bob Schuler, who had held the 7th Senate District since 2003, was unable to run again in 2010 ... The Senate Republicans had to appoint an interim senator to serve out the rest of Schuler's term ... Jones was chosen to be appointed to the Senate ...
Geauga County, Ohio - Government - Congressional Representation - State Representation
98th Ohio House District - Official Web site As of 2013, much of Geauga County will be in the newly-created 76th Ohio House District and the northeast corner of Geauga County. 18th Ohio Senate District - Official Web site As of 2013, much of Geauga County will remain in the 18th Ohio Senate District and the northeast corner of ...

Famous quotes containing the words senate and/or ohio:

    Like Cato, give his little Senate laws,
    And sit attentive to his own applause.
    Alexander Pope (1688–1744)

    Heaven is not one of your fertile Ohio bottoms, you may depend on it.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)