Oʻahu or Oahu /oʊˈɑːhuː/, known as "The Gathering Place", is the third largest of the Hawaiian Islands and the most populous of the islands in the U.S. state of Hawaii. The state capital, Honolulu, is on Oʻahu's southeast coast. Including small close-in offshore islands such as Ford Island and the islands in Kaneohe Bay and off the eastern (windward) coast, it has a total land area of 596.7 square miles (1,545.4 km2), making it the 20th largest island in the United States. In the greatest dimension, this volcanic island is 44 miles (71 km) long and 30 miles (48 km) across. The length of the shoreline is 227 miles (365 km). The island is the result of two separate shield volcanoes: Waiʻanae and Koʻolau, with a broad "valley" or saddle (the central Oʻahu Plain) between them. The highest point is Mt. Ka'ala in the Waiʻanae Range, rising to 4,003 feet (1,220 m) above sea level.

Read more about Oahu:  Introduction, History, Oʻahu in Media, Renewable Energy

Other articles related to "oahu":

City And County Of Honolulu Liquor Commission - Government - State Representation
... Community Correctional Center, on the island of Oahu in the City and County of Honolulu ... In addition the Oahu Community Correctional Center, the jail on Oahu Island, is in the City and County ...
List Of Shopping Malls In The United States - States - Hawaii
... Ala Moana Center - Honolulu, Oahu Kahala Mall - Honolulu, Oahu Pearlridge - Aiea, Oahu Prince Kuhio Plaza - Hilo, Hawaii Victoria Ward Centers - Honolulu, Oahu ...
List Of Bird Extinctions By Year - 20th Century
... Ula-ʻai-Hawane 1939 Carolina Parakeet Subantarctic Penguin 1940 Hawaiʻi ʻAkialoa Oahu 'Akialoa 1950 Niceforo's Pintail Grand Caymen Oriole New Caledonian White-Throated Eared-Nightjar ...