Mysore District

Mysore District is an administrative district located in the southern part of the state of Karnataka, India. The district is bounded by Mandya district to the northeast, Chamrajanagar district to the southeast, Kerala state to the south, Kodagu district to the west, and Hassan district to the north. It features many tourist destinations, from Mysore Palace to Nagarhole National Park. This district has a prominent place in the history of Karnataka; Mysore was ruled by the Wodeyars from the year 1399 till the independence of India in the year 1947. Mysore's prominence can be gauged from the fact that the Karnataka state was known previously as Mysore state.

It is the third most populous district in Karnataka (out of 30), after Bangalore and Belgaum.

Read more about Mysore DistrictOrigin of Name, History, Geography, Economy, Divisions, Demographics

Other articles related to "mysore district, district, mysore":

Mysore District - Demographics
... According to the 2011 census Mysore district has a population of 2,994,744, roughly equal to the nation of Armenia or the US state of Mississippi ... The district has a population density of 437 inhabitants per square kilometre (1,130 /sq mi) ... Mysore has a sex ratio of 982 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 72.56% ...

Famous quotes containing the word district:

    Most works of art, like most wines, ought to be consumed in the district of their fabrication.
    Rebecca West (1892–1983)