Mid Ulster (Assembly Constituency)

Mid Ulster (Assembly Constituency)

Mid Ulster is a constituency in the Northern Ireland Assembly.

The seat was first used for a Northern Ireland-only election for the Northern Ireland Assembly, 1973. It usually shares boundaries with the Mid Ulster UK Parliament constituency, however the boundaries of the two constituencies were slightly different from 1983 to 1986 as the Assembly boundaries had not caught up with Parliamentary boundary changes and from 1996 to 1997 when members of the Northern Ireland Forum had been elected from the newly drawn Parliamentary constituencies but the 51st Parliament of the United Kingdom, elected in 1992 under the 1983-95 constituency boundaries, was still in session.

Members were then elected from the constituency to the 1975 Constitutional Convention, the 1982 Assembly, the 1996 Forum and then to the current Assembly from 1998.

Mid Ulster is only 1 of 2 constituencies in Northern Ireland (the other one being Foyle) which has returned the same number of Assembly members from the same parties at each election - 3 Sinn Féin, 1 SDLP, 1 UUP and 1 DUP.

The most high-profile MLA for the constituency is Martin McGuinness, the Deputy First Minister.

For further details of the history and boundaries of the constituency, see Mid Ulster (UK Parliament constituency).

Read more about Mid Ulster (Assembly Constituency):  Members

Other related articles:

Mid Ulster (Assembly Constituency) - Elections - 1973
... Party Candidate 1st Pref Result Count SDLP Ivan Cooper 12,614 Elected Ulster Unionist Thomas Pollock 9,557 Elected Vanguard John Dunlop 7,082 Elected Ulster Unionist ...

Famous quotes containing the word mid:

    At the mid hour of night, when stars are weeping, I fly
    To the lone vale we loved when life was warm in thine eye,
    Thomas Moore (1779–1852)