List of Presidents of The United States By Other Offices Held - Federal Government - Legislative Branch - Senators


State President Year(s) served Notes
California Richard Nixon 1951–1953
Indiana Benjamin Harrison 1881–1887
Illinois Barack Obama 2005–2008 Third sitting Senator elected to the presidency
Massachusetts John Quincy Adams 1803–1808
John F. Kennedy 1953–1961 Second sitting Senator elected to the presidency
Missouri Harry Truman 1935–1945
New Hampshire Franklin Pierce 1837–1842
New York Martin Van Buren 1821–1828
Ohio William Henry Harrison 1825–1828
Warren Harding 1915–1921 First sitting Senator elected to the presidency
Pennsylvania James Buchanan 1834–1845
Tennessee Andrew Jackson 1797–1798
Andrew Johnson 1857–1862
1875 Only former President in the Senate
Texas Lyndon B. Johnson 1949–1961 Senate Minority Leader 1953-1955
Senate Majority Leader 1955-1961
Virginia James Monroe 1790–1794 First former Senator to become President
John Tyler 1827–1836 Only former President pro tempore to become President

A number of future Presidents served together while in the Senate:

  • Senator Monroe served under Vice President Adams (1790–1794)
  • Senator Jackson served under Vice President Jefferson (1797–1798)
  • Senator Van Buren served with Senators Jackson (1823–1825), Harrison (1825–1828), and Tyler (1827–1828)
  • Senator Buchanan also served with Senator Tyler (1834–1836) and later served with Senator Pierce (1837–1842). Both Buchanan and Tyler served under Vice President Martin Van Buren (1833–1837), while Pierce later served under Vice President Tyler (1841).
  • Senator Harrison briefly served under Vice President Arthur (1881).
  • Senator Johnson served with both Senators Nixon (1951–1953) and Kennedy (1953–1961). Johnson and Kennedy both served under Vice President Nixon (1953–1961).

Read more about this topic:  List Of Presidents Of The United States By Other Offices Held, Federal Government, Legislative Branch

Other articles related to "senators":

Dewan Negara - Membership
... Members of the Dewan Negara are referred to as "Senators" and "Ahli Dewan Negara" (literally "member of the Dewan Negara") in Malay ... The term of office is 3 years and senators may only be re-appointed once, consecutively or non-consecutively ... Each of the 13 state legislative assemblies chooses two senators ...
Parliament Of Trinidad And Tobago
... and the Senate which has 31 members appointed by the President 16 Government Senators appointed on the advice of the Prime Minister, 6 Opposition Senators appointed on the advice of the Leader of ...
Uruguayan General Election, 2009
... the Broad Front (left-wing coalition) emerged the winner, electing 16 senators and 50 deputies, while the National Party elected 9 senators and 30 deputies, the Colorado Party ...
Senate Of Northern Ireland - Senators - Peerages
... Nine Senators were or became peers of the realm at the time of their membership of the Senate ... At least another 3 Senators subsequently became members of the House of Lords by different routes ...

Famous quotes containing the word senators:

    Michael Corleone: My father is no different than any powerful man. Any man who’s responsible for other people. Like a senator or a president.
    Kaye: Do you know how naive you sound?
    Michael Corleone: Why?
    Kaye: Senators and presidents don’t have men killed.
    Mario Puzo (b. 1920)

    Gold? Yellow, glittering, precious gold?
    This yellow slave
    Will knit and break religions, bless th’ accursed,
    Make the hoar leprosy adored, place thieves,
    And give them title, knee and approbation
    With senators on the bench.
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)

    We shall have to begin all over again. [Taft hoped that] the Senators might change their minds, or that the people might change the Senate; instead of which they changed me.
    William Howard Taft (1857–1930)