List of Presidents of Sri Lanka - Presidents



United National Party Sri Lanka Freedom Party Independent

# Name Portrait Entered office Left Office Political party Notable events and achievements
1 William Gopallawa
22 May 1972 4 February 1978 Non-party Gopallawa was the last Governor General of Ceylon and the first (non-executive) President when Ceylon declared itself a republic in 1972, and changed its name to Sri Lanka.
2 Junius Richard Jayewardene
4 February 1978 2 January 1989 United National Party Jayewardene introduced the Executive Presidency in 1978, and assumed the position of President of Sri Lanka.
3 Ranasinghe Premadasa
2 January 1989 1 May 1993 United National Party Ranasinghe Premadasa was killed during a May Day rally, by an LTTE suicide bomber.
4 Dingiri Banda Wijetunga
2 May 1993 12 November 1994 United National Party Wijetunga was appointed as president after Ranasinghe Premadasa's assassination by LTTE.
5 Chandrika Kumaratunga
12 November 1994 19 November 2005 Sri Lanka Freedom Party
Chandrika Kumarathunga became the first non-UNP president of the country. she's also a victim of assassination attempts by LTTE, which were all unsuccessful.
6 Mahinda Rajapaksa
19 November 2005 Incumbent Sri Lanka Freedom Party
Mahinda Rajapaksha ended 25 year long civil war and LTTE terrorism in the country.

Read more about this topic:  List Of Presidents Of Sri Lanka

Other articles related to "presidents, president":

Norwegian Constituent Assembly - The Assembly
... The presidents and vice presidents of the assembly were chosen for one week, thus continuously changing ... The presidents were Peder Anker (10-17 April), Diderik Hegermann (18-24 April), Jens Schou Fabricius (25 April-1 May), Christian Adolph Diriks (2-8 May ... Sverdrup, who was the last president, gave the final speech ...
Hugh Sidey - Biography - Major Events
... Johnson and the "brown shoes" incident He covered several Presidents, from Eisenhower to Clinton, and was author of the book Time Hugh Sidey's Portraits of the Presidents ... He also hosted the PBS series The American Presidents ... Sidey served as president of the board of director of the White House Historical Association from 1998 to 2001, during the White House's bicentennary celebration ...
TV Funhouse - "Saturday TV Funhouse" - Recurring SNL "TV Funhouse" Skits
... "The X-Presidents" features former US Presidents Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, and George H.W ... Bill Clinton, despite his status as a living former president, is not a member since he did not receive the hurricane-powered dose of radiation, as he was in office during the ... "The X-Presidents" has been adapted to comic books by Random House Comics ...
Presidents of The Old United States/North American Confederacy
... includes a listing of those who followed Washington and Gallatin as the American Presidents ... From that point, the individuals listed here are considered Presidents of the NAC ...

Famous quotes containing the word presidents:

    All Presidents start out to run a crusade but after a couple of years they find they are running something less heroic and much more intractable: namely the presidency. The people are well cured by then of election fever, during which they think they are choosing Moses. In the third year, they look on the man as a sinner and a bumbler and begin to poke around for rumours of another Messiah.
    Alistair Cooke (b. 1908)

    A president, however, must stand somewhat apart, as all great presidents have known instinctively. Then the language which has the power to survive its own utterance is the most likely to move those to whom it is immediately spoken.
    J.R. Pole (b. 1922)

    Our presidents have been getting to be synthetic monsters, the work of a hundred ghost- writers and press agents so that it is getting harder and harder to discover the line between the man and the institution.
    John Dos Passos (1896–1970)