Jharkhand Mukti Morcha

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (झारखंड मुक्ति मोर्चा) (English: Jharkhand Liberation Front) is a state political party in the state Jharkhand, India. It has a strength of 2 in the 15th Lok Sabha. Shibu Soren is the president of JMM. JMM is also an influential political party in neighbouring states of Orissa, West Bengal.

The party was officially created on the birthday of Birsa Munda, the 19th century tribal warrior of Jharkhand that fought the British ruling in Jharkhand. The State of Jharkhand also came into existence on Birsa Munda's birthday in 2000.

At the 2005 Jharkhand state assembly elections, the JMM took second place and received 17 of the 81 seats. It supports the government of Independent Chief Minister Madhu Koda which was formed in 2006. It continues to be an active part of the United Progressive Alliance. It has had its fair share of controvoersies when its MPs were involved in the bribery scam during the Rao Government and the fiasco in early 2005 about the Chief Minister of Jharkhand. Recently, one of its MPs was assassinated by Naxalites. After the loss to Bangladesh in 2007 Cricket World Cup, the house that Dhoni was constructing in his home-town Ranchi was vandalized and damaged by political activists of JMM

Currently, it is has allied itself with Bharatiya Janata Party to form the government in Jharkhand. Presently there is coalation government of BJP, JMM and AJSU. Arjun Munda is the CM of Jharkhand. Besides this there are two Deputy CM Hemant Soren from JMM and Sudesh Mahto from AJSU. Sibu Soren is the party President of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and is MP from Dumka. C.P.Singh is the Speaker of Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha from BJP Party.

Political parties in India
Current national coalitions
  • National Democratic Alliance
  • United Progressive Alliance
  • Third Front
Former national coalitions
Recognised national parties
  • All India Trinamool Congress
  • Bahujan Samaj Party
  • Bharatiya Janata Party
  • Communist Party of India
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist)
  • Janata Dal (United)
  • Indian National Congress
  • Nationalist Congress Party
  • Samajwadi Party
Recognized state parties
  • All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
  • All India Forward Bloc
  • All India Trinamool Congress
  • All India United Democratic Front
  • Asom Gana Parishad
  • Biju Janata Dal
  • Bodoland People's Front
  • Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam
  • Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
  • Haryana Janhit Congress (BL)
  • Indian National Lok Dal
  • Jammu & Kashmir National Conference
  • Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party
  • Jammu and Kashmir People's Democratic Party
  • Janata Dal (Secular)
  • Janata Dal (United)
  • Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
  • Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik)
  • Kerala Congress
  • Kerala Congress (Mani)
  • Lok Jan Shakti Party
  • Maharashtra Navnirman Sena
  • Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party
  • Manipur Peoples Party
  • Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
  • Meghalaya Democratic Party
  • Mizo National Front
  • Mizoram People's Conference
  • Muslim League Kerala State Committee
  • Nagaland People's Front
  • National People's Party
  • Pattali Makkal Katchi
  • People's Party of Punjab
  • Pondicherry Munnetra Congress
  • Rashtriya Janata Dal
  • Rashtriya Lok Dal
  • Revolutionary Socialist Party
  • Samajwadi Party
  • Shiromani Akali Dal
  • Shiv Sena
  • Sikkim Democratic Front
  • Telangana Rashtra Samithi
  • Telugu Desam Party
  • United Democratic Party
  • Uttarakhand Kranti Dal
  • YSR Congress Party
  • Zoram Nationalist Party
Other parties in parliament
  • All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen
  • Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi
  • Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist)
  • Swabhimani Paksha
  • Swatantra Bharat Paksh
  • Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi
Other unrecognized parties or
parties with limited presence
  • Aam Aadmi Party
  • Pirate Party of India
  • All India Muslim Forum
  • Arunachal Congress
  • Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh
  • Communist Marxist Party
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist) Liberation
  • Democratic Socialist Party (Prabodh Chandra)
  • Indian Federal Democratic Party
  • Indian National Congress (Socialist)
  • Indian National League
  • Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra
  • Janathipathiya Samrakshana Samithy
  • Jharkhand Party
  • Kerala Congress (Balakrishna Pillai)
  • Kerala Congress (Jacob)
  • Kerala Congress (Secular)
  • Kerala People's Party
  • Kongunadu Munnetra Peravai
  • Lok Satta Party
  • Naam Tamilar Katchi
  • Peoples Republican Party
  • Perunthalaivar Makkal Katchi
  • Pragatisheel Indira Congress
  • Professionals Party of India
  • Republican Party of India (Gavai)
  • Republican Party of India (Athvale)
  • Republican Party of India (B.C. Kamble)
  • Republican Party of India (Democratic)
  • Republican Party of India (Khobragade)
  • Revolutionary Socialist Party (Baby John)
  • Revolutionary Socialist Party (Bolshevik)
  • Samajwadi Janata Party (Rashtriya)
  • United Goans Democratic Party
  • Karnataka Janata Party
  • Portal:Politics
  • List of political parties
  • Politics of India

Other articles related to "mukti, jharkhand, jharkhand mukti morcha":

Subitism - Akrama Mukti
... Ramana Maharshi made a distinction between akrama mukti, "sudden liberation", as opposed to the krama mukti, "gradual liberation" as in the Vedanta path of jnana yoga ‘Some people,’ he said ... It is called krama mukti ... But I was overtaken by akrama mukti before I passed through any of the above-mentioned stages.’ ...
List Of Chief Ministers Of Jharkhand
... This is the list of people who have served as the Chief Minister of Indian state of Jharkhand, since its creation in 2000, when the southern, hilly ... Janata Party 2 ... Arjun Munda 3 ... Shibu Soren Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 4 ... Arjun Munda Bharatiya Janata Party 2006. 555 ...
Dumka (Lok Sabha Constituency) - Members of Parliament
... 1957 Debi Soren, Jharkhand Party 1962 S.C ... Congress 1977 Hembram Bateshwar, Janata Party 1980 Shibu Soren, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 1984 Prithvi Chand Kisku, Indian National Congress 1989 Shibu Soren ...
Rajmahal (Lok Sabha Constituency) - Members of Parliament
... National Congress 1984 Seth Hembram, Indian National Congress 1989 Simon Marandi, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 1991 Simon Marandi, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 1996 Thomas Hansda, Indian National ...