Glasgow Springburn (UK Parliament Constituency)

Glasgow Springburn (UK Parliament Constituency)

Glasgow Springburn was a constituency of the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom from 1918 until the 2005 general election, when it was largely replaced by the Glasgow North East constituency.

The Member of Parliament, Michael Martin, formerly a member of the Labour Party, was elected Speaker of the House of Commons in 2000 and held the post until his resignation in 2009. By convention, the major parties (Labour, Conservative Party and Liberal Democrats) do not stand against a sitting Speaker in a general election, and in the 2001 and 2005 general elections he stood as "Speaker seeking re-election." Other parties, including the Scottish National Party, however, continued to contest the seat.

Read more about Glasgow Springburn (UK Parliament Constituency):  Boundaries, Member of Parliament

Other related articles:

Glasgow Springburn (UK Parliament Constituency) - Election Results - Elections in The 1910s
... General Election 1918 Glasgow Springburn Party Candidate Votes % ±% Coalition Conservative Frederick Alexander Macquisten 10,786 52.7 Labour George Hardie 7,996 39.1 Liberal William Mather Rutherford Pringle 1,669 8.2 Majority 2,790 13.6 Turnout 20,451 60.9 Coalition Conservative hold Swing. ...

Famous quotes containing the words parliament and/or glasgow:

    What is the historical function of Parliament in this country? It is to prevent the Government from governing.
    George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)

    ... to be “literary” appeared to my deluded innocence as an unending romance.
    —Ellen Glasgow (1873–1945)