Child Development - Theories - Erik Erikson

Erik Erikson

Erikson, a follower of Freud's, synthesized both Freud's and his own theories to create what is known as the "psychosocial" stages of human development, which span from birth to death, and focuses on "tasks" at each stage that must be accomplished to successfully navigate life's challenges.

Erikson's eight stages consist of the following:

  • Trust vs. mistrust(infant)
  • Autonomy vs. shame (toddlerhood)
  • Initiative vs. guilt (preschooler)
  • Industry vs. inferiority (young adolescent)
  • Identity vs. role confusion (adolescent)
  • Intimacy vs. isolation (young adulthood)
  • Generativity vs. stagnation (middle adulthood)
  • Ego integrity vs. despair (old age)

ref>Manning, M.Lee (September 1988). "Erikson's Psychosocial Theories Help Explain Early Adolescence". NASSP Bulletin: 95–100.

Read more about this topic:  Child Development, Theories

Other articles related to "erik erikson, erikson":

Erik Erikson - Bibliography - Related Work
... Erikson on Development in Adulthood New Insights from the Unpublished Papers (Dallas Hope Melinda Bird, 2002) Erik Erikson His Life, Work, and Significance (Kit ...

Famous quotes related to erik erikson:

    In any case, raw aggression is thought to be the peculiar province of men, as nurturing is the peculiar province of women.... The psychologist Erik Erikson discovered that, while little girls playing with blocks generally create pleasant interior spaces and attractive entrances, little boys are inclined to pile up the blocks as high as they can and then watch them fall down: ‘the contemplation of ruins,’ Erikson observes, ‘is a masculine specialty.’
    Joyce Carol Oates (b. 1938)

    Young people of high school age can actually feel themselves changing. Progress is almost tangible. It’s exciting. It stimulates more progress. Nevertheless, growth is not constant and smooth. Erik Erikson quotes an aphorism to describe the formless forming of it. ‘I ain’t what I ought to be. I ain’t what I’m going to be, but I’m not what I was.’
    Stella Chess (20th century)