Bangladesh Nationalist Party

The Bangladesh Nationalist Party (Bengali: বাংলাদেশ জাতীয়তাবাদী দল Bangladesh Jatiotabadi Dôl), commonly referred to as the BNP, is the mainstream center-right political party in Bangladesh. BNP ruled Bangladesh for 14 years since its independence, longer than any other party in Bangladeshi history. It is the largest opposition party in the Jatiyo Sangshad, the Parliament of Bangladesh.

Founded in 1978 by Lieutenant General (retired) Ziaur Rahman, the Seventh President of Bangladesh. The BNP was established by President Zia to provide a political platform for him after his assumption of power during the coup and counter-coup of 1975. Ideologically, the party has professed Bangladeshi nationalism, and free market economic policies, including freedom of speech and press. The BNP is described as the Islamic consciousness of the Muslim majority in Bangladesh, in contrast to the secular Awami League. The BNP has been opposed to communism and socialism since its inception and advocates vigorous free market policies.

The BNP has held power in Bangladesh for five separate terms. Amongst its leaders, four have become President and two have become Prime Minister. Within the party, power has remained exclusively in the hands of the Zia family, with Begum Khaleda Zia leading the party since the assassination of Ziaur Rahman, her husband and the party's founder.

Read more about Bangladesh Nationalist Party:  Party Ideology, The 2001–2006 Period, The 2007–2008 Period, The 5th National Council, Current Leadership

Other articles related to "party, bangladesh":

List Of Rulers Of Bengal - After Independence of Bangladesh - Prime Ministers of Bangladesh
... Name Took Office Left Office Party 1 Tajuddin Ahmed 10 April 13 ... January 1972 Awami League 2 Sheikh Mujibur Rahman 13 January 26 ... January 1975 Awami League 3 Mohammad Mansoor Ali 26 January 15 ... August ...
List Of Prime Ministers Of Bangladesh - Prime Ministers
... Portrait Entered office Left office Political party 1 Tajuddin Ahmad 11 April 12 ... January 1972 Bangladesh Awami League 2 Mujibur Rahman 12 January 25 ... January 1975 Bangladesh Awami League 3 ...

Famous quotes containing the words party and/or nationalist:

    Well, I am chiefly interested in the renomination, so don’t get disconsolate over that. If we lost the election I shall feel that the party is rejected, whereas if I fail to secure the renomination it will be a personal defeat.
    William Howard Taft (1857–1930)

    The difference between patriotism and nationalism is that the patriot is proud of his country for what it does, and the nationalist is proud of his country no matter what it does; the first attitude creates a feeling of responsibility, but the second a feeling of blind arrogance that leads to war.
    Sydney J. Harris (1917–1986)