Aorta - The Course of The Aorta

The Course of The Aorta

The aorta is usually divided into five segments/sections:

  • Ascending aorta—the section between the heart and the arch of aorta
  • Arch of aorta—the peak part that looks somewhat like an inverted "U"
  • Descending aorta—the section from the arch of aorta to the point where it divides into the common iliac arteries
    • Thoracic aorta—the half of the descending aorta above the diaphragm
    • Abdominal aorta—the half of the descending aorta below the diaphragm

Read more about this topic:  Aorta

Other articles related to "the course of the aorta, the, of the aorta, the aorta":

The Course of The Aorta - Embryological Development
... In mammalian and avian embryological development, the pharyngeal arch (aortic arches) arteries contribute to the normal pattern of the great arteries ... The fourth aortic arch vessel survives in these vertebrates as the arch of the aorta, the third aortic arch vessel persists as the brachiocephalic artery or the root of the internal ... The smooth muscle of the great arteries and the population of cells that form the aorticopulmonary septum that separates the aorta and pulmonary ...

Famous quotes containing the word the:

    And the might of the Gentile, unsmote by the sword,
    Hath melted like snow in the glance of the Lord!
    George Gordon Noel Byron (1788–1824)