Andante and Finale (Tchaikovsky)

Andante And Finale (Tchaikovsky)

The Andante and Finale is a composition for piano and orchestra that was reworked by Sergei Taneyev from sketches by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky for the abandoned latter movements of his single-movement Piano Concerto No. 3 in E-flat, Op. 75.

The core of the music is by Tchaikovsky, but the realisation was by Taneyev, and the decisions on the form, genre and title were jointly made by Taneyev, Tchaikovsky's brother Modest, Alexander Siloti and the publisher Mitrofan Belyayev. It was nevertheless published in 1897 as a work of Tchaikovsky's alone, and even given the posthumous opus number 79 in Tchaikovsky's catalogue.

The Third Piano Concerto and the Andante and Finale are sometimes played together to form a synthetic "complete" concerto.

Read more about Andante And Finale (Tchaikovsky):  Background, Structure, Instrumentation, Synthetic Completion of The Third Concerto, Bibliography

Other articles related to "andante, finale, tchaikovsky":

Andante And Finale (Tchaikovsky) - Bibliography - External Links
... Andanteand FinaleFree scores at the International Music Score Library Project AndanteFinale, Op. 79 (1893) at Symphony in E-flat major (1892) (unfinished) at Piano Concerto No. 75 (1893) at ...

Famous quotes containing the word finale:

    Let be be finale of seem.
    The only emperor is the emperor of ice-cream.
    Wallace Stevens (1879–1955)