Yosan Line

The Yosan Line (予讃線, Yosan-sen?) is a railway line on the island of Shikoku in Japan, operated by the Shikoku Railway Company (JR Shikoku). It runs along the Inland Sea coast, connecting the prefectural capitals of Takamatsu (Kagawa Prefecture) and Matsuyama (Ehime Prefecture), continuing on to Uwajima. The name of the line comes from Iyo (伊?) and Sanuki (岐?), the old names of Ehime and Kagawa, respectively.

The line splits into two between Mukaibara and Iyo-Ōzu. The main line follows the coast via Iyo-Nagahama, while the branch line goes through the mountains via Uchiko, part of which is known as the Uchiko Line. The Uchiko branch was constructed as a bypass of the lengthy coastal route, and all limited express trains now use this route, rather than the older main line.

The Yosan Line, along with the Dosan Line, connected with the Ukō Ferry at Takamatsu Station. This connection ended on 9 April 1988 with the completion of the Great Seto Bridge, which bears the Honshi-Bisan Line.

Following the 11 March 2011 Tohoku Major Earthquake, on 7 March 2012, JR Shikoku, JR East, and JR Freight announced that on 24 March 2012, JR Shikoku's popular Ampanman Torokko Train would tour areas devastated by the earthquake and tsunami.

Read more about Yosan Line:  Basic Data, Services, History, Station List

Other articles related to "yosan line, line, lines, yosan":

Yosan Line - Station List - Takamatsu – Iyo-Saijō
... Marine Liner Y00 Takamatsu 高松 - 0.0 ● ● ■ Kōtoku Line (T28) Kotoden Kotohira Line (Takamatsu-Chikkō) ∥ Takamatsu Kagawa Y01 Kōzai ...
Gauge Change Train - Second-generation Train (1998–2007)
... The second-generation set undergoing testing on the Yosan Line in Shikoku, September 2012 Constructed 2006 Number built 3 vehicles Formation 3-car set Capacity 36 Specifications Car length 23,075 mm (75 ft 8.5 in ... Maximum speed is 270 km/h (170 mph) on Shinkansen lines operating under 25 kV AC (60 Hz), and 130 km/h (80 mph) on conventional lines operating under 20 kV AC (60 Hz) or 1,500 V DC ... Late night test running took place at speeds of up to 130 km/h (80 mph) on the Yosan Line from August 2011, with the train based at Tadotsu ...
Mukaibara Station - Adjacent Stations
... Service » Yosan Line (Old Line) Iyoshi - Kōnokawa Yosan Line (Branch Line) Terminus - Iyo-Ōhira Stations of the JR Shikoku Yosan Line Takamatsu Kōzai Kinashi Hashioka Kokubu Sanuki-F ...
Iyo, Ehime - Transportation - Rail
... Iyo is served by the Yosan and Uchiko lines of JR Shikoku and the Gunchū line of the Matsuyama commuter railway system run by the Iyo Railway Company ... The Yosan Line follows the coastline, running from Torinoki Station in the north through Iyoshi Station, the main station serving pre-merger Iyo, Mukaibara ... Nakayama is served by the Uchiko line, which diverges from the Yosan Line at Mukaibara and continues on Iyo-Ohira Station and Iyo-Nakayama Station before entering Uchiko and eventually ...

Famous quotes containing the word line:

    In order to get to East Russet you take the Vermont Central as far as Twitchell’s Falls and change there for Torpid River Junction, where a spur line takes you right into Gormley. At Gormley you are met by a buckboard which takes you back to Torpid River Junction again.
    Robert Benchley (1889–1945)