What is Karnataka?

  • (noun): State in southern India; formerly Mysore.
    Synonyms: Mysore


Karnataka /kɑrˈnɑːtəkə/ (Kannada: ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ) is a state in South West India. It was created on 1 November 1956, with the passage of the States Reorganisation Act and this day is annually celebrated as Karnataka Rajyotsava (Formation Day). Originally known as the State of Mysore /maɪˈsɔər/, it was renamed Karnataka in 1973. It is the land of the Kannadigas, Tuluvas, Konkanis and Kodavas. The capital and largest city is Bangalore.

Read more about Karnataka.

Some articles on Karnataka:

Castle Rock, Karnataka
... in the Uttara Kannada (North Kanara) district Indian state of Karnataka, The town is located in the Western Ghats on the state's border with Goa at an elevation of 621 m (2,040 ...
Jainism In North Karnataka - See Also
... Jainism portal Karnataka portal North Karnataka Tourism in North Karnataka Aihole Badami Jainism in Karnataka Jainism in Maharashtra Jain Bunt ...
Hogenakkal Integrated Drinking Water Project - Status of The Project- Timeline - May, 2008
... Yeddiurappa, Chief Minister of Karnataka claimed that the proposed drinking water project site in Hogenakkal is situated in Karnataka and thus sparked ... Soon after Yeddiurappa's claim other political parties in Karnataka followed suit ... The agitations that followed in Karnataka targeted the Tamils until the Assembly elections got over there ...
Jagannathrao Joshi
... He was born in a Kannadiga family at Nargund, Karnataka in 1920 ... His contribution to building the BJS and BJP in Karnataka earned him the epithet "Karnataka Kesari" (Lion of Karnataka) ...
Karnataka - Tourism
... Main article Tourism in Karnataka See also Architecture of Karnataka By virtue of its varied geography and long history, Karnataka hosts numerous spots of interest for ... Karnataka has been ranked as the fourth most popular destination for tourism among the states of India ... Karnataka has the second highest number of nationally protected monuments in India, second only to Uttar Pradesh, in addition to 752 monuments protected by the State Directorate of Archaeology and Museums ...