UEFA Champions League

The UEFA Champions League /juːˈeɪfə ˈtʃæmpiənz ˈliːɡ/, known simply as the Champions League, and originally known as the European Champion Clubs' Cup or European Cup, is an annual continental club football competition organised by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) since 1955 for the top football clubs in Europe. It is one of the most prestigious tournaments in the world and the most prestigious club competition in European football. The final of the 2011 tournament was the most-watched UEFA final to date, as well as the most watched annual sporting event worldwide that year, drawing 178.7 million television viewers.

Prior to 1992, the tournament was officially called the "European Champion Clubs' Cup", but was usually referred to simply as the "European Cup". The competition was initially a straight knockout competition open only to the champion club of each country. During the 1990s, the tournament began to be expanded, incorporating a round-robin group phase and more teams. Europe's strongest national leagues now provide up to four teams each for the competition. The UEFA Champions League should not be confused with the UEFA Europa League, formerly known as the UEFA Cup.

The tournament consists of several stages. In the present format, it begins in mid-July with three knockout qualifying rounds and a play-off round. The 10 surviving teams join 22 seeded teams in the group stage, in which there are eight groups of four teams each. The eight group winners and eight runners-up enter the final knockout phase, which culminates with the final match in May. The winner of the UEFA Champions League qualifies for the UEFA Super Cup and the FIFA Club World Cup.

Real Madrid is the most successful club in the competition's history, having won the tournament nine times, including the first five seasons it was contested. Spanish clubs have accumulated the highest number of victories, with 13 wins. The title has been won by 22 different clubs, 12 of which have won the title more than once. Since the tournament changed name and structure in 1992, no club has managed consecutive wins, with Milan being the last club to successfully defend their title, in 1990. The reigning champions of the competition are Chelsea, after beating Bayern Munich 4–3 on penalties, following a 1–1 draw after extra time.

Read more about UEFA Champions LeagueHistory, Anthem, Prize Money, Medals, Sponsorship, Media Coverage

Other articles related to "league, uefa champions league":

List Of APOEL F.C. Seasons - Seasons
... Season League Cup Europe / Other Division P W D L F A Pts Pos 1934–35 1st 15. 3rd RU 1935–36 1st 24. 1st SF 1936–37 1st 19. 1st W 1937–38 1st 11. 11 ...
List Of APOEL F.C. Seasons
... Also, appeared 32 times in European competitions, achieving to qualify to UEFA Champions League group stages for the first time in their history the season ... They participated again in UEFA Champions League group stages the season 2011–12 and achieved qualification for the quarter-finals of the competition by topping the group and ...
László Köteles - Club Career - Genk
... Köteles as the Hungarian has had some flaws in a few games, but in the play-offs of the Belgian league he got back to his regular level ... role in qualifying for the group stages of the UEFA Champions League 2011–12 season ... On 13 September 2011 Köteles debuted in the UEFA Champions League against Valencia ...
List Of AEK Athens F.C. Managers - Managerial History
... titles belongs to Dušan Bajević who won 4 Greek Championships,1 Greek Cup,1 League Cup,1 Super Cup and 1 Mediterranean Games Cup. 1936-37 Themos Asderis ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? — Kostas Negrepontis 1940 ... ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? Greek League 1 Greek Cup 1 Kostas Negrepontis 1948 ... ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? — Giorgos Daispaggos 1948 1948 ...

Famous quotes containing the words league and/or champions:

    I am not impressed by the Ivy League establishments. Of course they graduate the best—it’s all they’ll take, leaving to others the problem of educating the country. They will give you an education the way the banks will give you money—provided you can prove to their satisfaction that you don’t need it.
    Peter De Vries (b. 1910)

    Myths and legends die hard in America. We love them for the extra dimension they provide, the illusion of near-infinite possibility to erase the narrow confines of most men’s reality. Weird heroes and mould-breaking champions exist as living proof to those who need it that the tyranny of “the rat race” is not yet final.
    Hunter S. Thompson (b. 1939)