Timeline of Yugoslav Breakup

Timeline Of Yugoslav Breakup

The Breakup of Yugoslavia was a process in which the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia was broken up into constituent republics, and over the course of which the Yugoslav wars started.

The process generally began with the death of Josip Broz Tito on 4 May 1980 and it formally ended when the last two remaining republics (SR Serbia and SR Montenegro) proclaimed the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia on 27 April 1992.

At that time the Yugoslav wars were still ongoing, and FR Yugoslavia continued to exist until 2003, when it was renamed and reformed as the state union of Serbia and Montenegro. This union lasted until 5 June 2006 when Montenegro proclaimed independence.

The former Yugoslav autonomous province of Kosovo also proclaimed independence in 2008, but at that point there was no Yugoslav federation whatsoever to speak of.

Read more about Timeline Of Yugoslav Breakup:  See Also

Other articles related to "timeline of yugoslav breakup, timeline of, yugoslav":

Timeline Of Yugoslav Breakup - See Also
... Timeline of the Croatian War of Independence Timeline of the Yugoslav wars Independence of Kosovo ...