The Republic of Tatarstan (Russian: Респу́блика Татарста́н, Respublika Tatarstan; ; Tatar Cyrillic: Татарстан Республикасы, Latin: Tatarstan Respublikası) is a federal subject of Russia (a republic) located in the Volga Federal District. Its capital is the city of Kazan, which is one of Russia's larger and more prosperous cities. The republic borders with Kirov, Ulyanovsk, Samara, and Orenburg Oblasts, and with the Mari El, Udmurt, and Chuvash Republics, as well as with the Republic of Bashkortostan. The unofficial Tatarstan motto is: Bez Buldırabız! (We can!). Population: 3,786,488 (2010 Census).

The state has strong ties with its neighbor Bashkortostan.

Read more about Tatarstan:  Terminology, Geography, History, Demographics, Politics, Economy, Culture, Sports, Education, Religion

Other articles related to "tatarstan":

Tatarstan - Religion
... As of January 1, 2008, as many as 1,398 religious organizations were registered in Tatarstan, of which 1,055 were Muslim ... Today, Sunni Islam is the most common faith in Tatarstan, as 55% of the population is Muslim ... Tatarstan also hosted an international Muslim film festival which screened over 70 films from 28 countries including Jordan, Afghanistan and Egypt ...
... is the name of two rural localities in the Republic of Tatarstan, Russia Cheremshan, Apastovsky District, Republic of Tatarstan, a selo in Apastovsky District Cheremshan ...
Shoshma River
... Cyrillic Шушма, Latin Şuşma Mari Шошма, Šošma) is a river in Mari El, Tatarstan and Kirov Oblast, Russian Federation, a right-bank tributary of the Vyatka River ... Its length is 112 km (90 of them in Tatarstan) and its drainage basin is 1,885 km² ... Since 1978 it has been protected as a "natural monument of Tatarstan'" ...
Syun River
... Tatar Cyrillic Сөн, Latin Sön) is a river in Bashkortostan and Tatarstan, Russian Federation, a left-bank tributary of the Belaya River (Kama basin) ... Its length is 209 km (74 of them in Tatarstan) and its drainage basin is 4,500 km² ... Major tributaries in Tatarstan are Kalmiya, Sikiya, Terpelya, Bezyada, and Sharan in Bashkortostan ...