State Assembly Elections in India, 2007 - Manipur


Elections in Manipur were held in three phases on 8 February, 14 February and 23 February.

Rank Party Seats Contested Seats Won
1 Indian National Congress 59 30
2 Independent 55 10
3 Manipur Peoples Party 36 5
4 Nationalist Congress Party 27 5
4 Communist Party of India 24 4
5 Rashtriya Janata Dal 28 3
5 National People's Party 5 3
6 Bharatiya Janata Party 14 0
Total 60

The Indian National Congress won by a simple majority. A Congress-led coalition government was sworn in on 01 March 2007 with Okram Ibobi Singh as the Chief Minister.

Read more about this topic:  State Assembly Elections In India, 2007

Other articles related to "manipur":

List Of Hindu Temples In India - Manipur
... Temples - Imphal Shri Gopinath Mandir - Imphal, Manipur Shri Govindji Temple of New Palace - Imphal, Manipur Shri Govindji Temple of Old Palace ...
Manipur - Economy - Macro-economic Trends
... This is a chart of trends of gross state domestic product of Manipur at market prices estimated by Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation with figures in ten ...
Sanamahism - Revivalism
... Religion in Manipur is thought to have passed through three stages ... According to the last census, about eleven percent of Manipur belong to religions stated as 'other' ... Attitude of indigenous people of Manipur to the religion and concept of God is not possible without the proper understanding of Sanamahi religion ...
Manipur Institute Of Technology
... Manipur Institute of Technology (MIT) formerly known as Government College of Technology, Imphal is a Constituent College and is being maintained by the Manipur University out of the funds made available to it ... is located at Takyelpat at a distance of 4 km from the heart of Imphal, the capital city of Manipur in a comfortable surrounding with the NH-53 running south of it ...